Skip to main content

Second Language Teaching

A research guide for Education students studying Second language teaching.

Which database should you use?

Which database should you use? Explore a selection of the available databases according to function.

Options for finding more databases.

  1. Are you looking for a database which focuses on a specific area of teaching e.g. Humanities Education?
    Explore the full list of library guides for educationour learning area guides contain subject focussed database lists.
  2. Find more titles by searching or browsing the A-Z ejournals and databases list

Second language teaching and learning databases

Use these databases to source journal articles about your topic. Click on the icon to learn more about the database.

Education Databases

The Education Library team has developed a core list of databases for locating journal articles and other sources for educational topics.  
  • Hover your mouse over the title, to learn more about the database.

Cited reference searching databases

Citation tracking allows you to examine research trails and determine the number of times an article has been cited in other papers. It can also reveal connections between authors and other patterns of publication. See the Tracking Citations guide for further information. With the exception of Education Research Complete, these search tools are multidsciplinary.

  • Hover your mouse over the title, to learn more about the database.

Search tools for specific information needs and formats

These databases have a specialist focus or provide access to a particular format of information, such as streamed media. 
  • Hover your mouse over the title, to learn more about the database.
  • We suggest you explore the Index of library guides for education if you are looking for a database which focuses on a specific area of teaching e.g. humanities education, as the learning area guides contain subject focused database lists.

Discovery Search

Discovery Search

Combined search of the catalogue,
digital collections, ebooks and some databases

   

You can also access Discovery via the library homepage. Use Discovery to search across the:

Library CatalogueDigital Repository and many databases, all at once. 

Doing in-depth research? Also try databases listed in this guide.

Learn how to use Discovery

Google Scholar

 Access:  Advanced Scholar Search


How to access articles for free from the Library when you are searching Google Scholar 

If you are searching from home or somewhere other than a computer at the campus, you need to set preferences in Google Scholar to activate access to full text for free via the Library.

Follow these steps to make the Source it @ Melbourne links visible in Google Scholar.

  1.     Go to Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com

  2.     Select the Settings link at the top-right of the page.

  3.     On the next screen, select the Library links option to the left.

  4.     Type, University of Melbourne Library in the search box > then select the search button.

  5.    Tick the checkbox next to the option: University of Melbourne Library - SourceIt@Melbourne.

  6.     Select the Save button (Cookies must be enabled for your browser to remember your settings for future use)

The Source It @ Melbourne links will now appear in Google Scholar search results - use these to connect to the full-text