Which database should you use? Explore a selection of the available databases according to function.
Options for finding more databases.
Combined search of the catalogue,
digital collections, ebooks and some databases
Doing in-depth research? Also try databases listed in this guide.
If you are searching from home or somewhere other than a computer at the campus, you need to set preferences in Google Scholar to activate access to full text for free via the Library.
Follow these steps to make the Source it @ Melbourne links visible in Google Scholar.
Go to Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com
Select the Settings link at the top-right of the page.
On the next screen, select the Library links option to the left.
Type, University of Melbourne Library in the search box > then select the search button.
Tick the checkbox next to the option: University of Melbourne Library - SourceIt@Melbourne.
Select the Save button (Cookies must be enabled for your browser to remember your settings for future use)
The Source It @ Melbourne links will now appear in Google Scholar search results - use these to connect to the full-text
We suggest you explore the Index of library guides for education if you are looking for a database which focuses on a specific area of teaching e.g. humanities education, as the learning area guides contain subject focused database lists.
A selection of useful Business databases, for case studies for organizational behaviour and applied psychology. More extensive database lists are available within the Business and Economics Library Guides.
Citation tracking allows you to examine research trails and determine the number of times an article has been cited in other papers. It can also reveal connections between authors and other patterns of publication. See the Tracking Citations guide for further information. With the exception of Education Research Complete, these search tools are multidsciplinary.