Skip to main content

Online graduate courses - Evaluation: Databases

A library and research toolkit to support students enrolled in online Evaluation subjects.

Discovery Search

Discovery Search

Use Discovery to search across the: Library CatalogueDigital Repository and many databases, all at once. 

You can also access Discovery via the library homepage.

Doing in-depth research? Also try databases listed in this guide.

Subject Specific Databases

Depending on your disciplinary lens, you may want to search a database which focuses on a specific subject area. For instance if your research is focusing on evaluation in Education, ERIC would be a relevant search tool.

Discovery Video

An introduction to Discovery for Program Evaluation students.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These multidisciplinary databases offer advanced search features with refining options which are not available in Discovery. They also contain exclusive literature unavailable through other sources.

Google Scholar

 Access:  Advanced Scholar Search


How to access articles for free from the Library when you are searching Google Scholar 

If you are searching from home or somewhere other than a computer at the campus, you need to set preferences in Google Scholar to activate access to full text for free via the Library.

Follow these steps to make the Find it @ UniMelb links visible in Google Scholar.

  1.     Go to Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com

  2.     Select the menu button in the top left corner of the page

  3.     Select the Settings option in the menu.

  4.     On the next screen, select the Library links option on the left.

  5.     Type, University of Melbourne Library in the search box > then select the search button.

  6.    Tick the checkbox next to the option: University of Melbourne Library - Find It@UniMelb

  7.     Select the Save button (Cookies must be enabled for your browser to remember your settings for future use)

The Find it @ UniMelb links will now appear in Google Scholar search results - use these to connect to the full-text