Overview
This guide includes a selection of legislation and case law sources from commercial databases and free websites. In addition, relevant journal databases, journal titles and ebooks are listed.
For country specific information, select the country above.
Please note, this research guide does not cover all available resources but will provide you with a place to start your research. It will be regularly updated and over time will include resources for additional jurisdictions.
If you have suggestions for expansion or improvement of the guide, please get in touch by emailing Law-librarians@unimelb.edu.au .
Keywords
|
A multitude of terms may be used, for example in:
|
Also, many unfair commercial practices may be considered unfair competition, such as:
|
Getting Started - Databases
- International Encyclopaedia of Laws - IEL Competition LawCovers the competition laws of more than thirty countries, including Australia, China and the U.S. Each chapter provides a description of the substantial and procedural rules of a particular jurisdiction as well as a list of the leading cases and a bibliography.
- Kluwer Competition LawExtensive collection on EU competition law and materials for non-EU countries, including China and the U.S. Topics include antitrust, cartels, mergers, state aid and liberalisation and are divided in legislation, court and commission decisions and commentary.
- LexologyLexology covers over 80 practice areas spanning competition & regulatory, dispute resolution & litigation, tax, white collar crime, IP, corporate, commercial, banking & finance, infrastructure & transport, energy & natural resources, insurance and compliance.
- Global Competition ReviewA competition law and policy journal and news service, publishing breaking competition news, commentary and analysis, as well as original in-depth reports, interviews and features on antitrust enforcement worldwide.
Foreign Research
View our Foreign Research Guides for detailed information on foreign research methods, legislation and case law research:
Getting Started - Print and E-books
This section lists recent books on Competition Law in a global, regional or comparative context.
The guide to merger remedies by Call Number: KN 266.12 GUIDPublication Date: Global Competition Review, 2018.
The Regionalisation of Competition Law and Policy Within the ASEAN Economic Community by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: CUP, 2018
Elgar Encyclopedia of Comparative Law by Publication Date: 2012Discusses comparative law and different areas of law, including Competition Law in EU and the U.S. and the legal system of various countries.
Research Handbook on International Competition Law by Publication Date: 2012Covers competition in developed and developing countries, enforcement trends, competition agency networks and comparative analysis of intellectual property and competition law and merger control worldwide.
Comparative Competition Law by Publication Date: 2016Focuses on global issues facing competition law and policy. This volume is specially commissioned chapters by major writers from the United States, Europe, Asia, South America, and Australia provide a synthesis of how these current topics are addressed by drawing on the approaches from varioius jurisdictions around the world.
Getting Started - Journal Databases
This section includes main law journal databases as well as business journal databases relevant to your research. For more information on searching for journal articles see the:
Main Law Journal Databases
- AGIS (Informit)A predominately Australian law journal database including some law journals from New Zealand and the Asia Pacific region. Some articles are in full text and date from 1970 onwards.
- HeinOnline - Index to Foreign Legal PeriodicalsA multilingual index to articles in legal journals published worldwide. Covers public and private law for comparative and international legal research.
- HeinOnline - Law Journal LibraryA full text legal journal database that includes core U.S. law journals. Covers some journals from other jurisdictions, such as Australia, the UK, Europe, Canada. There are delays in availability of recent issues for some titles.
- Index to Legal PeriodicalsAn index to important legal scholarly articles from the U.S., Canada, U.K., Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Content includes over 1,000 titles of which more than 400 are in full text.
- Kluwer Law OnlineThe gateway to Kluwer Law International publications, including competition law journals. Select Journals tab to browse or search journals.
- LegalTracIndexes major law reviews, international legal journals from the U.S, Canada, U.K and Australia.
- Lexis US ResearchA full text database including U.S. legal journals and law reviews. Includes some Canadian journals. Select 'Secondary Legal' and then US & Canadian Law Reviews, Combined.
- Westlaw (previously Westlaw International)Contains 700+ full text journals, law reviews and bar journals. Focus is on U.S., Canadian and U.K. materials.
Business Journal Databases
- Business Source CompleteA large international scholarly business database including both bibliographic and full text content.
- EconLitAn economics specific database that includes journal articles, working papers and theses.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteA large international business database which includes competition law.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)A law, business and economics database that includes journal articles, working papers and forthcoming papers.
- InformitLarge Australasian journal database. To search broader than legal content, select 'by Subject' and tick 'Business & Law'.