US Legal Research Guide
For more detailed information on US legal research, see the:
Commentary Quick Overviews
- LexologyLexology covers over 80 practice areas spanning competition & regulatory, dispute resolution & litigation, tax, white collar crime, IP, corporate, commercial, banking & finance, infrastructure & transport, energy & natural resources, insurance and compliance.
- International Comparative Legal Guides (ICLG)Includes concise chapters for cartels & leniency, competition litigation, merger control and product liability in U.S.
Major Commentary Sources
- Antitrust Law DevelopmentsComprehensive review of federal antitrust law, with reports on current case law and administrative and legislative developments.
- Annual Review of Antitrust Law DevelopmentsAnnual supplements to Antitrust Law Developments, including developments for a particular year in the courts, at the agencies, and in Congress.
- Callman on Unfair Competition, Trademarks & MonopoliesUpdated three times anually, this resource provides a thorough analysis of unfair competition and trademark law. To access: type "Callman on Unfair Competition" into the search box.
- National Survey of State LawsProvides a table summarising each state’s statutes. Browse by Category: Business and Consumer Laws or alternatively Browse Laws by Topic: Antitrust.
- Restatement of Law - Unfair CompetitionRestatements of the Law are a set of highly regarded treatises on general principles of common law. It's aim is to distill the "black letter law" from cases, to indicate a trend in common law. Includes a chapter on deceptive marketing and a table of recent cases.
- Westlaw - Practitioner Insights for AntitrustIncludes Antitrust Analysis, News and Insights from Reuters, etc. To access: click on Practice Areas tab > select Antitrust.
- Westlaw - Federal Control of BusinessIncludes chapters on monopoly and various acts related to competition in U.S.
Legal Encyclopedias
- American Jurisprudence 2dIncludes a chapter: Monopolies, Restrains of Trade and Unfair Trade Practices.
- Corpus Juris SecundumIncludes chapters on credit reporting agencies and consumer protection as well as monopolies and unfair competition.
News and Current Awareness
- The Antitrust SourcePublished by the American Bar Association - Antitrust Section.
- Antitrust Laws and Competition IssuesPublished by New York Times.
- Consumer Protection & the LawUpdated annually, this is a guide to consumer protection laws in the United States. Title available through Westlaw International.
Legislation
Annotated US Legislation
For more information on how to search for annotated US Code, see the United States Legal Research Guide.
- Westlaw - Global Competition & AntitrustProvides United States Statutes & Court Rules on competition and antitrust:
Title 15, Chapter 1 - Monopolies and Combinations in Restraint of Trade (Clayton Act, Sherman Act, HSR Act)
Title 15, Chapter 2, Subchapter 1 - Federal Trade Commission (Federal Trade Commission Act) - Westlaw (previously Westlaw International)Contains 700+ full text journals, law reviews and bar journals. Focus is on U.S., Canadian and U.K. materials.
- Lexis US ResearchA full text database including U.S. legal journals and law reviews. Includes some Canadian journals. Select 'Secondary Legal' and then US & Canadian Law Reviews, Combined.
Federal Antitrust Acts
For more information on how to search for US federal legislation, see the United States Legal Research Guide. Note, the below acts are from the Legal Information Institute and may not be current.
Use Westlaw (previously Westlaw International) to find codified and more up to date versions of the acts. Click on 'Federal Materials' and select 'United States Code Annotated'. The annotated version provides valuable section by section commentary.
- WestlawClick on the "United States" tab. By selecting from the U.S. Statutes section, you are able to search the US Codes (Consolidated Federal legislation) as well as the Bill tracking feature. There is also a section for U.S. Historical codes from 1948.
- The Sherman Antitrust ActSherman Act 26 Stat. 209, codified at 15 U.S.C. §§ 1–7
- The Clayton Antitrust Act of 1914Pub.L. 63–212, 38 Stat. 730, codified at 15 U.S.C. §§ 12–27, 29 U.S.C. §§ 52–53
- The Federal Trade Commission Act§ 28, Pub. L. 109–455, § 11(1), Dec. 22, 2006, 120 Stat. 3381, codified at 15 U.S.C. §§ 41-58
- The Robinson-Patman Act of 1913Also known as the Anti-Price Discrimination Act. Pub. L. No. 74-692, 49 Stat. 1526, codified at 15 U.S.C. § 13
- Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements ActCommonly referred to as the HSR Act. PL 94-435; codified at 15 U.S.C. §18a
State Antitrust Legislation
For more information on how to search for US state legislation, see the United States Legal Research Guide.
- National Survey of State LawsGives an overview of Antitrust followed by a table briefly summating each state’s statutes. The database is updated quarterly.
- FindlawProvides a list to state antitrust legislation and relevant agencies.
- WestlawClick on the "United States" tab. By selecting from the U.S. Statutes section, you are able to search the US Codes (Consolidated Federal legislation) as well as the Bill tracking feature. There is also a section for U.S. Historical codes from 1948.
Finding US Cases
For an introduction to finding US cases, see the United States Legal Research Guide.
Browse Recent Anti-trust/ Competition Cases
- Westlaw - Antitrust CasesBrowse recent federal antitrust cases by clicking on Practice Areas tab > under Browse Antitrust (upper right), select Cases.
Case Citators
Use case citators to find subsequent cases that have considered your case, parallel citations, litigation history, and related secondary legal materials.
- WestlawClick on the "United States" tab. By selecting from the U.S. Statutes section, you are able to search the US Codes (Consolidated Federal legislation) as well as the Bill tracking feature. There is also a section for U.S. Historical codes from 1948.
- Lexis Advance US Research (International)Lexis is an online legal research tool which offers US federal public laws and the US Code Service, as well as US state codes, federal and state registers and state constitutions; over 900 full-text US legal journals and law reviews; and the Shepard's Citator service. The database also contains material from over 150 countries.
- LawCiteAustralasian Legal Information Institute contains Australian and New Zealand reported and unreported decisions, including most Australian courts, and many lower courts and tribunals. LawCite is the case citator that is automatically generated, which gathers information from the free legal information institutes worldwide, including Australia.
Major Law Journal Databases
Most journal articles will be found online. Search the Law Library's journal articles databases to find articles related to U.S. legal topics. The listed databases below are the best ones for finding articles related to U.S. legal research.
- LegalTracLegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of mainly U.S. federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
- HeinOnline's Law Journal LibraryHeinOnline's Law Journal Library is a full text legal journals database. The collection includes American Bar Association journals, core U.S. law journals, criminal justice journals, international and non-U.S. law journals, intellectual property law journals, and most-cited law journals.
- Lexis US ResearchContains approximately 900 full text journals, law reviews, bar journals and legal newspapers. Mainly US and Canadian titles.
- WestlawContains 700+ full text journals, law reviews and bar journals. Focus is on US, Canadian and UK titles.
Business Journal Databases
- Business Source CompleteA large international scholarly business database including both bibliographic and full text content.
- ABI/INFORM CompleteA large international business database which includes competition law.
- EconLitAn economics specific database that includes journal articles, working papers and theses.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)A law, business and economics database that includes journal articles, working papers and forthcoming papers.
SSRN Research Papers are free to all, but all users must register and create an account to download papers.
Antitrust / Competition Law Journal Titles - United States
-
Antitrust Bulletin
-
Antitrust Law Journal
-
Antitrust Law & Economics Review
-
Antitrust (Antitrust Magazine)
Other Competition Journal Titles
|
|
Library Catalogue Search
Search Library Catalogue for books using Keyword search or Subject search using these terms:
You can limit your results to Online Books only.
eBooks
You also can search across various eBook platforms allowing you to search full text of books.
Selected eBooks on United States Antitrust / Competition Law
-
-
-
-
The Criminal Law of Competition in the UK and in the US by
Publication Date: 2012Edward Elgar Pub. Ltd. -
Economics and the Interpretation and Application of U. S. and E. U. Antitrust Law by
Publication Date: 2014Springer -
-
-
The Institutional Structure of Antitrust Enforcement by
Publication Date: 2011Oxford University Press -
-
Intellectual Property and Competition by
Publication Date: 2011 -
-
-
Standardization under EU Competition Rules and US Antitrust Laws by
Publication Date: 2014Edward Elgar Pub. Ltd
Selected eBooks on United States Consumer Protection Law
United States Government Agencies
- US Department of Justice - Antitrust DivisionThe mission of the Antitrust Division is to promote economic competition through enforcing and providing guidance on antitrust laws and principles.
- Federal Trade Commission (FTC)The mission of the FTC is to prevent business practices that are anticompetitive or deceptive or unfair to consumers; to enhance informed consumer choice and public understanding of the competitive process; and to accomplish this without unduly burdening legitimate business activity.
- US Department of Justice - International AntitrustFosters international competition policy cooperation by collaborating with enforcement agencies in other jurisdiction.
Inquiries & Reports
Please note, the references provided are not exhaustive of all the inquiries, reports and guidelines of the competition authorities in the United States.
- Federal Trade Commission - ReportsReports by the Federal Trade Commission that focus on antitrust and consumer protection trends.
Guidelines
- Department of Justice, (US)The U.S. Department of Justice website lists Guidelines and Policy Statements.
The U.S. Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission provide Horizontal Merger Guidelines (August 2010)
See more information on Merger Enforcement.