Skip to main content

Hawthorn English Language Students

This is a guide for Hawthorn English Language students for finding libraries and information at the University of Melbourne.

Library Opening Hours

About borrowing

Hawthorn English Language Students can use their Hawthorn student card to borrow up to 10 books.

Please look after your card  and don't lend it to anyone. 

If you lose your card report it to a Hawthorn English Language teacher and to a library staff member at one of our University of Melbourne Library service desks. 

Hawthorn students may only borrow 28 day loan books.   No 7 day loans or High Use resources.

About this guide

Welcome!

This guide is designed for Hawthorn English Language students not currently enrolled in University of Melbourne accredited courses. Use this guide to learn about the resources you can borrow and the databases you can access to find information when visiting the University of Melbourne Libraries.

 

 Clocktower

Casamento, P. (2015) Orientation Week 2015. Retrieved from https://images.marketing.unimelb.edu.au/images/earlylogin.jspx#1434082438666_1 

Quick Help Guides

What Databases can I access to find journal articles?

Hawthorn English Language Students can visit any of the University of Melbourne libraries and use one the guest computers to search the Discovery database to find journal articles and online resources.

Discovery is a great starting point for research and combines the information from the library catalogue, the digital repository and many databases into a single database.

Go to the Frequently Asked Questions  and the Using Computers and Database tabs in this guide to learn more about accessing Discovery and finding full text articles.

Please note: Remote access to databases is licenced to staff and students with a University of Melbourne email account and password. 

 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a question via online chat