Skip to main content

Libguides Migration Project Guide

This is a guide to assist staff in the migration of our Libguides from the V1 Platform, to V2. All the necessary resources that staff need for this process, will be in this guide. This guide is produced by the Libguides Migration Working Group (LMG)

Pre migration checklist

LibGuides v2.0 Pre-migration checklist - **August 1 - September 30**

Pre migration checklist

LibGuides v2.0 Pre-migration checklist - **August 1 - September 30**  Last updated 11/9/2015

  1. MERGE OR DELETE INACTIVE GUIDES - STEP 1 DEADLINE: AUGUST 20

ACTION 

DETAILS

PROCESS

WHO?

CHECK

a. Review version 1 guides flagged as inactive by the LMG team and consider merging or deleting

The LibGuides Migration Group (LMG) will provide guide owners a list of guides that have hit counts less than 100 or have not been accessed in 1 year.

 

To reduce the volume of guides needed to be migrated, consider merging or deleting these guides.

·         The LMG will provide all owners with reports on their guides by August 5

DLs and Guide owners: review, merge or delete

 

LMG: will generate reports for each user

2. REVIEW DATABASE LINKS DEADLINE: AUGUST 28

ACTION 

DETAILS

PROCESS

WHO?

CHECK

a. Consolidate all database links to Links boxes

Merging database links and external URLs that currently exist in Rich Text boxes to Link boxes will reduce the likelihood of formatting problems occurring in v2.0.

 

Links in Rich Text boxes will not be picked up by the report and some database links may be missed and not added to the A-Z databases list later on.

  • Transfer any database / website / resource lists currently hosted in Rich Text boxes to Links & Lists boxes.
    • Ensure all database links that you wish to migrate over to v2.0 are in Links boxes
    • When bringing the database link over, make sure you use the Add New Link function and enter the database details on the form
    • Database links remaining in Rich Text / Dynamic Content / Scripts boxes will not be added to the A-Z Database manager

Guide owners

b. Ensure consistency of all database links

All database links need to use the catalogue record permalinks. This needs to be done manually as both LibGuides and external link checkers do not pick up on these links as broken.

 

Links directly to the databases via ezyproxy have been problematic in the past and this is a good opportunity to update all links to ensure a smooth transition to v.2.

 

These links will then be added to the A-Z Databases manager as assets by the LibGuides Migration Group

  • Ensure all database links use the library catalogue permalink URLs and uniform titles found in the Database Links spreadsheet on the shared drive
    • \ACADEMIC PROGRAMS\Presentations\LIBGUIDES\Policy, Approvals, Styleguides & FAQ - Current versions\

 

  • Make sure you save any custom descriptions used for databases in a Word document or similar in case you want to overwrite the generic descriptions that will be used in the A-Z Databases list post-migration.

Guide owners

3. REVIEW GUIDE CONTENT DEADLINE SEPTEMBER 30

ACTION

DETAILS

PROCESS

WHO?

CHECK

1 Check for broken links
Priority 1 (Essential)

This is a good opportunity to check for outdated or broken links.

Use an external link checker to check for broken links as the link checker built into LibGuides v1.0 is selective and only checks some box types.

  • Depending on the browser you are using, download a reliable link checker (you may need computer administrator rights to install).
  • We recommend using the Chrome extension:
Update/remove broken links where necessary
Guide owners

2. Replace or delete content in boxes that are not being migrated to version
Priority 2 (Essential)

The following boxes are not migratable to v.2

Events (lack of use)

  • replace with another option if info needed or delete

Delicious widgets (lack of use)

  • replace with another option if info needed or delete

User Submitted Links(lack of use)

  • replace with another option if info needed or delete

Feedback (lack of use)

  • replace with another option if info needed or delete

Surveys (being replaced by different code)

  • Note which surveys are being used in your guides
  • Copy into Word/Excel and save for post-migration work

Table of Contents (new Side-Nav template replaces this)

  • Copy into Word/Excel and save for post-migration work

Step 1 - Look at the report generated by the Librguides Migration Group to see which of your guides have a non migrating box

Step 2 - Go to that guide and remove the box - and tidy up your page layout if necessary. 

Step 3 - Keep notes on whether the box functionality/content will need to be recreated in the new platform using some other method.

Consider using SpringShare’s Chart for Tracking Changes to keep track of anything you want to revisit post-migration.

Guide owners: review and replace or delete non-supported boxes

3. Review HTML/CSS customisations (if any)
Priority 3 (Essential)

If you have any customizations on your guide – in individual boxes or in the Custom JS/CSS box (LibGuides CMS Only) – that are specific to the guide (it references a particular box, etc.), it will not translate into LibGuides v2. The code in Custom JS/CSS boxes will not migrate, and any code in individual boxes just won’t render. The code and style for LibGuides v2 is completely different from v1 – CSS classes and IDs are different, etc.

Step 1 Make note of any guides / boxes where you have customizations.

Step 2 Post migration, you will need to address the customised codes as a priority, as they will not work.

Step 3 You will still have access to your old V1 guide, so you will be able to look at it as reference.

Consider using SpringShare’s Chart for Tracking Changes to keep track of anything you want to revisit post-migration.

Guide owners

4. Review images
Priority 4 (Essential)

This is a good opportunity to tidy up your image libraries and to fix up any old or outdated images on your guides

Cleaning up your image libraries reduces the time needed for guide migration.

Step 1 Review your image library and remove any images you don’t need.

Log into LibGuides v.1 Dashboard
Go to Modules in the toolbar
Go to Images & Backups Module
Select View your personal image library
Delete images that you know are not being used in your guides

Step 2 Visit each of your guides and check that images have appropriate alt text 
See this page for guidance on writing meaningful alt text

Consider using SpringShare’s Chart for Tracking Changes to keep track of anything you want to revisit post-migration.

Guide owners

Ensure accessibility
(Ongoing Action - to be addressed)

Accessibility standards are a high priority for all web pages, however we acknowledge there is significant work to get our guides to meet the full requirements of the W3C accessibility standard

After migration, we will look at a broader scale accessibility improvement plan which will be  implemented after the migration.

We have provided some practical steps for the essential changes for images that will aid accessibility.

Guide owners

Review reusable content in guides

Any reusable content linked to multiple guides in LibGuides v1 will remain linked in LibGuides v2. Reusing content improves consistency and makes everything easier to update. You can reuse pages, boxes, links, images, widgets, books, and more.

Step 1 (optional) If you are reusing content, you may want to increase your reused content across your guides as this will improve consistency and reduce workload and duplication.


Consider using SpringShare’s Chart for Tracking Changes to keep track of anything you want to revisit post-migration.

    Guide owners

    4. COMMUNICATE CHANGES DEADLINE OCTOBER 4 - to be finalised

    ACTION

    DETAILS PROCESS

    WHO?

    CHECK

    a. Update library web pages/LMS subjects that link to guides

    Consider where your guides are linked to externally. While URL’s will be the same in v2.0, links to deleted or merged guides will need to be removed or updated.

     

    • Are there any webpages you are responsible for that will be affected by your guide changes?
    • Are there any LMS subjects or communities that will be affected by your guide changes?

     

    Think about where links to deleted LibGuides appear on Library webpages and LMS subjects. These will need to be removed or updated with any new guides developed now or in the future

    Guide owners

    b. Communicate changes to stakeholders

    Are there any academics or other staff that need to be notified of changed URLs or guide removals?

    To ensure the smooth transition extends into Learning and Teaching spheres, the migration process and any changes made to existing LibGuides should be communicated to any academics you know of who rely upon them

    The LMG and DL’s will take care of the broader communication to faculty but this step is important if you are aware of any specific people who are reliant on your guides that may need to notified on a more personal level.

    • Consider ways academics could be using guides:
      • Embedded in LMS
      • Links in handbooks / readers
      • Webpages

    Guide owners: to contact specfic academics affected

     

    LMG / DLs: will communicate broad changes at faculty/school level