Databases covering Australian companies only
Databases covering Australian companies only - DatAnalysis PremiumDetailed reports on all Australian publicly listed and delisted companies.
- Company 360Covers Australian private and public companies.
- IBISWorldAustralian public and private companies, and government bodies.
- Connect 4 BoardRoomASX-listed companies' remuneration information for Directors and Senior Executives.
- Connect 4 Expert ReportsASX-listed company reports, covers mergers, de-mergers, acquisition, takeovers, buybacks, divestments and reconstructions.
(1992 - present) - Connect 4 Mergers & AcquisitionsBidder and target statements of merger and acquisition activity.
(1997 - present). - Connect 4 Company AnnouncementsASX-listed company announcements.
(1988 - present) - Connect 4 Annual ReportsASX-listed companies' annual reports.
(1992 - present) - ASIC Connect - Business Name RegisterBasic, free online company information which includes registration date, status and current address.
- Who's Who in Business & Directory of Australian AssociationsBasic information including subsidiaries, employees, turnover, listed date, auditors, solicitors, brand names, ANZSIC Codes, trading name, former names.
Databases covering global companies
- HooversGlobal coverage of public and private companies.
BROWSER: Preferred browsers Firefox version 38.2.1 or higher, and Microsoft Edge. - OrbisGlobal coverage of medium and large private and public companies.
BROWSER: do not use with Firefox or IE. - GlobalData ExplorerIncludes public and private company profiles, SWOT analyses and financial deals.
- Fitch Connect - Company reportsCompany profiles, SWOT analyses and market positions or company strategy, includes limited financial data.
- LexisNexis AcademicPrivate and public companies majority from United States, some global coverage.
- PassportProfiles of leading public and private companies from the consumer goods and services sector.
- WARCCompany profiles for top global consumer goods and services companies.
- International Directory of Company HistoriesHistories of selected companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Each database includes different information.
Use the drop down box to see which database contains what you are looking for.
Company Information
Financials & Ratios
| Database | Regions | What is included? | How to find? |
|---|---|---|---|
| DatAnalyisis | Australia - ASX listed | Previous 12 years | Annual financials OR Interim financials then select Ratio Analysis |
| Orbis | International | Previous 5 years | Financials then select Global Ratios |
| Hoovers | International | Previous 10 years financials, basic ratios | |
| Company360 | Australia | Previous 10 years | Financials then select Ratios |
Company Information
Ownership
| Database | Regions | What is included? | How to find? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orbis | International | In company report select Ownership Tree then Subsiduaries | |
| Company360 | Australia | In company report select Family Tree | |
| DatAnalyisis | Australia - ASX listed | In company report select Controlled Entities |
Company Information
SWOT Analysis
| Database | Regions | What is included? | How to find? |
|---|---|---|---|
| MarketLine | International | For large companies | |
| Passport | International | Many profiles contain competitive positioning analyses | |
| Hoovers | International | Core then select SWOT |
Company Information
Annual reports
| Database | Regions | What is included? | How to find? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Orbis | International | Select Original Documents | |
| DatAnalyisis | Australia - ASX listed |
mid-1990s - present (some earlier - 1980s) |
|
| Annual Reports Collection (Connect 4) |
Australia - ASX listed | 1992 - present | |
| Edgar Search | United States | 1993 - present | Search by name, the limit by filing type 10-K |
| ProQuest Historical Annual Reports | United States | 1884 - 2008 800 companies included |
|
| Annual Report File |
Australia New Zealand |
mid-1950s - mid-1990s | microform in Baillieu Library |
Company Information
Competitors
| Database | Regions | What is included? | How to find? |
|---|---|---|---|
| DatAnalyisis | Australia - ASX listed |
Select Peer Analysis to compare financial performance of companies in the same GICS Industry Group | |
| Company360 | Australia |
In company profile select Competitors then select Peer Analysis from drop-down menu then select desired variables to compare |
|
| Hoovers | International | In company report select Competition | |
| Orbis | International | In company | |
| Passport | International | Rankings of leading companies by market and brand shares |
What type of company are you researching?
Public
Trade stocks or securities on an exchange (e.g. the ASX).
Must disclose operations and performance to shareholders.
Most likely to have detailed information available in databases.
Private
An entity with private ownership. No public stocks.
Not obliged to disclose information, may be harder to research.
Some information is available in the databases, particularly on larger companies, also check news reports.
Government
Publicly accountable, obliged to disclose information.
Subsidiary
A subsidiary is owned by a parent company.
If financials not available, check parent company.
Ticker Symbols
SEARCH TIP
Trouble with a company name?
Try the ticker code.
A ticker or stock symbol is used to identify a company on a stock exchange.
Most databases search by company name or ticker code.
Check ASX website to find ticker codes.
Rankings
- BRW ListsAnnual ranking lists of Australian companies. Includes the Top 500 Private Companies and the Top 1000 Companies.
- Forbes Magazine ListsAnnual ranking lists including America’s Best Small Companies, the 400 Best Big (American) Companies, America's Largest Private Companies, Asia's Best Under A Billion, Asia's Fab 50 Companies and The Forbes Global 2000.
- Standard & Poor's Indices e.g. S&P ASX 200S&P Asia 50, S&P 500 (UK), S&P Europe 350, etc. You need to create an account to access the lists.