Collected Editions, Historical Sets and Monumenta
Collected editions are scholarly compiled editions of musical scores which present the output of particular composers and genres from the 12th to the 21st centuries.
Collected editions are for library use only and cannot be borrowed. They are marked in the library catalogue with the location UniM Southbank CE.
The major collections in the Southbank Library:
- Composers Series - A-Z - browse the shelves at CE 780.81.
- Historical Series - browse the shelves at CE 780.9 onwards;
- National Series - browse the shelves at CE 780.941 onwards;
- Music Forms & Principles - browse the shelves at CE 781 onwards;
- Opera & Vocal Series - browse the shelves at CE 782 onwards;
- Instrumental Series - browse the shelves at CE 785 onwards.
For an overview of the richness of these materials, consult the following introductory articles:
- Editions from Oxford Music Online (restricted - University of Melbourne only)
A summary of the modern history of collected editions followed by a list of editions of music, subdivided into three parts:- Editions of the complete works of a single composer
- Multi-volume editions devoted to unified musical repertory
- Anthologies of selections and excerpts from a variety of musical sources.
Or in print at The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd. NewYork: Macmillan, 2001.
- v.7 pp.895- "Editions, Historical " an introductory article
- v.28, pp.169- "...a comprehensive guide to collections of past musical repertory"
Includes: 1. Single-composer complete editions ; 2. Other collected editions ; 3. Anthologies.
Locating Works within Collected Editions
Use keyword searches as per the Search tab in this guide.
Try using a composer's name work "work" or one of the other language variants such as "werk', "gesam", "sammlung", "ausgab" or "oeuvre". Similarly, if looking for an edition of a specific musical form such as motet, foreign variants may be applied or use truncation (in this instance): "motet*" which will also yield results for "motetta"
Many composers have series of Collected Editions dedicated to their works. These are located at CE 780.81 followed by the first four letters of the composer's name. This can be easier than using catalogue searches in some cases.
Some composer entries in Oxford Music Online include details regarding the Collected Edition for specific works. An explanation of the editions and series is included at the beginning of the works list.
Useful resources include:
- Oxford Music Online (Oxford University Press)Oxford Music Online is a gateway offering users the ability to search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. It includes updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. In addition, users can search and access the Oxford Reference titles: Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music
- Index to Printed MusicThe Index to Printed Music (IPM) is the only electronic resource for finding individual pieces of music published in standard scholarly editions, from Ancient Greek times to present. This index contains hundreds of thousands of records of individual music works, and provides detailed indexing across a range of categories.
Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music by ISBN: 083890288XPublication Date: 1980A useful but an out-of-date index compiled by Anna Harriet Heyer.
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by ISBN: 0914913220Publication Date: 1997Inventories some 8,000 historically important collected editions of music, including numbered monumental sets and composers' collected editions, as well as musicologically significant publishers' series and anthologies.Another incomplete index but a useful supplement to Heyer.
