Equity and Trusts
Books on equity and trusts in Australia are generally located at KN 200 K1 and KN 210 K1.
- Link to Trusts and Trustees - Australia catalogue resultsBelow is a list of our recommended items from the catalogue.
Equity and trusts in Australia by
The new edition of Equity and Trusts in Australia is fully updated by reference to reported and unreported case law throughout Australia, New Zealand, the UK and Canada, and by reference to the latest journal articles. More specifically, the book covers the Tanwar High Court decision regarding relief against forfeiture, the dissenting NSWCA judgement in Penatgold v Romanos as this was endorsed by the High Court and the Ramsden case dealing with disclaimer by beneficiaries. Furthermore, the new edition has separate chapters devoted to: - the nature and types of equitable interests - equitable priorities - duties of trustees - powers and rights of trustees. There is also the inclusion of a new chapter entitled "The Beneficiary" which expands on the nature of beneficiaries rights under a trust and of a beneficiaries interest in a trust.
Call Number: High use KN 210 K1 DALPublication Date: 2023- Common law, equity and statute : a complex entangled system by
This strikingly original book explains how the Australian legal system is structured, and how that structure informs the way novel questions of law are argued and decided. The book analyses what is meant by the "common law of Australia", what is the relationship between judge-made law and statutes, and how courts resolve novel questions of law. It explains why some questions are best regarded as aspects of the common law, why others are best regarded as questions of statutory construction, why some are difficult to characterise, and why this matters. It also explains why equity continues to be a distinct component of judge-made law, with a different relationship with statute.
Call Number: KL 26 LEEMPublication Date: 2023
A sourcebook on equity and trusts in Australia by
A Sourcebook on Equity and Trusts in Australia presents a selection of relevant cases and instructive commentary to introduce students to the study of Australian equity and trusts law. Designed to follow the structure of the third edition of Equity and Trusts in Australia, it can also be used as a freestanding casebook. The third edition has been fully updated to discuss recent landmark decisions, including Ancient Order of Foresters in Victoria Friendly Society Ltd v Lifeplan Australia Friendly Society Ltd (2018) 265 CLR 1 and Smethurst v Commissioner of Police [2020] HCA 14. Extracts are accompanied by detailed commentary, and additional notes and discussion questions throughout each chapter enhance and test students' understanding of complex cases and issues. Written by a team of experienced authors, A Sourcebook on Equity and Trusts in Australia offers an accessible introduction to the application of equity and trusts law.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2022- A sourcebook on equity and trusts in Australia by
A Sourcebook on Equity and Trusts in Australia presents a selection of relevant cases and instructive commentary to introduce students to the study of Australian equity and trusts law. Designed to follow the structure of the third edition of Equity and Trusts in Australia, it can also be used as a freestanding casebook. The third edition has been fully updated to discuss recent landmark decisions, including Ancient Order of Foresters in Victoria Friendly Society Ltd v Lifeplan Australia Friendly Society Ltd (2018) 265 CLR 1 and Smethurst v Commissioner of Police [2020] HCA 14. Extracts are accompanied by detailed commentary, and additional notes and discussion questions throughout each chapter enhance and test students' understanding of complex cases and issues. Written by a team of experienced authors, A Sourcebook on Equity and Trusts in Australia offers an accessible introduction to the application of equity and trusts law.
Call Number: High Use KN 210 SOURPublication Date: 2022
Equity and trusts in Australia by
Equity and Trusts in Australia offers an accessible introduction to the principles of Australian equity and trusts law for students, linking key doctrines to their wider relationship with the law. The text covers foundational topics of equity and trusts law, including the nature of equity, fiduciary relationships and trust structures. This edition has been revised to include recent landmark decisions and a new chapter on termination and variation of trusts. Each chapter concludes with a guide to the online resources, which encourage students to extend their knowledge of the content through further reading, practice problems and discussion topics. Written by a team of experienced authors, Equity and Trusts in Australia is an ideal text for students undertaking this area of study for the first time. A Sourcebook on Equity and Trusts in Australia is also available and provides cases and primary legal materials to accompany Equity and Trusts in Australia.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2022- Equity and trusts in Australia by
Equity and Trusts in Australia offers an accessible introduction to the principles of Australian equity and trusts law for students, linking key doctrines to their wider relationship with the law. The text covers foundational topics of equity and trusts law, including the nature of equity, fiduciary relationships and trust structures. This edition has been revised to include recent landmark decisions and a new chapter on termination and variation of trusts. Each chapter concludes with a guide to the online resources, which encourage students to extend their knowledge of the content through further reading, practice problems and discussion topics. Written by a team of experienced authors, Equity and Trusts in Australia is an ideal text for students undertaking this area of study for the first time. A Sourcebook on Equity and Trusts in Australia is also available and provides cases and primary legal materials to accompany Equity and Trusts in Australia.
Call Number: High Use KN 200 K1 BRYAPublication Date: 2022
Principles of Australian equity and trusts by
The key cases and materials relating to equity and trusts are drawn together to illustrate the reasoning processes of the court and the development of legal principles. Cases are carefully selected, edited, and cross-referenced to the companion textbook, Principles of Australian Equity and Trusts, to promote a deep understanding of this complex area of law. Both books follow the same chapter order and structure, making it easy to use them in tandem. The authors provide discussion of the key concepts, putting the case extracts into their legal context. Helpful analysis of each extract assists readers to understand why each case is important and the principle to be drawn from the decision
Call Number: KN 200 K1 RADAPublication Date: 2022
Transacting with trusts and trustees by
As economic entities, commercial trusts are just as transactionally active as companies. Despite their similarities, however, it is not always appreciated just how different they are from companies, and how little protection the law offers to those who transact with them. Transacting parties are vulnerable to a range of risks when dealing with a trust and trustee. Unlike other textbooks and casebooks on trusts, Transacting with Trusts and Trustees deals with these practical issues in an applied way.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2020
Remedies in equity by
Remedies in Equity – The Laws of Australia is a comprehensive reference for practitioners and students regarding the power of courts to award equitable relief in Australia.
Call Number: KN 200 K1 WRIGPublication Date: 2020
Equity practice and precedents by
Equity Practice and Precedents Second Edition is a guide to practice in equity in New South Wales. It outlines the essential principles of a broad range of equitable and statutory remedies associated with the equity jurisdiction
Call Number: KN 200 K1 FINNPublication Date: 2019
Cases and materials on equity and trusts by
Cases and Materials on Equity and Trusts provides an extensive selection of extracts from leading cases and authoritative commentary on the essential elements of equity and trusts. The work concentrates on fundamental judicial and scholarly statements of the purposes and principles of all aspects of equity, and includes the law of trusts and trustees, tracing, contribution and subrogation, and all other major equitable doctrines and remedies. Case extracts are accompanied by comprehensive discussion and analysis, extracts from statutes and critical statements on the law. Interesting and demanding discussion questions are included to extend more capable readers.
Call Number: High Use KN 200 K1 HEYDPublication Date: 2019
Trusts law in Australia by
Trusts Law in Australia, now in its fifth edition, provides a comprehensive and scholarly analysis of modern trusts law. Earlier editions have been praised for their utility both as a text for students and as for the sophisticated analysis of decisions they provide for practitioners.The text is logically structured, setting out the conceptual foundations of trusts before dealing with all of the key topics including express trusts, charitable trusts, voluntary trusts, resulting trusts, constructive trusts, writing and related requirements, the rules against perpetuities and accumulations, life tenants, remaindermen, tracing, and the duties, liabilities, powers, rights, appointments, retirement and removal of trustees.Professor Denis Ong's meticulous analysis of both the facts and reasoning of key judgments identifies conceptual anomalies in the law, and interprets and at times critiques the relevant Australian and UK authorities.
Call Number: High Use KN 210 K1 ONGPublication Date: 2018
