Social Work

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCHOhost)
Covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, with topics including professional social work, welfare, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, abortion, criminology, demography, religion, rural sociology, social psychology,

PsycINFO (Ovid)
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, social work and pharmacology

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
An authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals. Has good subject heading functionality.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts : ASSIA
Covers health services, social work, sociology and psychology.

Emcare (Ovid)
Emcare is a nursing and allied health database which indexes over 3,700 international journals, with coverage commencing 1995 onwards. The database is integrated with the EMTREE thesaurus and has easy linking to full-text journal content. Emcare enables users to search scholarly nursing and allied health bibliographic data with convenient limits to systematic reviews, clinical trials, and the other functionality of the Ovid platform.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Covers theoretical and practical aspects of the social work including professional service and social issues. Topics include: therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights.

Family-ATSIS (Informit)
Material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families.

Medline (Ovid)
A comprehensive database in the biomedical sciences and includes records on psychology, social work and allied health.

DRUG (Informit)
Indexes material on the psychosocial and treatment aspects of alcohol, drug and tobacco use and misuse

ERIC (EBSCO)
(Educational Resources Information Center) - Social work, policy, welfare and psychology in education. Has good subject heading search functionality.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts, formerly produced by Sage Publications, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world

Global Health (Ovid)
International public health research and practice including community, social medicine, behaviour, health inequality, health policy.

Indigenous Collection
Covers Indigenous studies including anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policy making, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts from 1977 to present.

MAIS (Informit)
Resources on Australian immigration and multicultural issues.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Social structure, inequality, social change, social problems.

APAIS - Australian Public Affairs Information Service (Informit)
An Australian resource incorporating health and medicine public affairs, sports, drugs, indigenous health and broader health issues in society with a focus on Australian content.

PILOTS : Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (ProQuest)
Covers PTSD and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

Web of Science
Web of Science Core Collection provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search™ Complete is a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Scopus (Elsevier)
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Google Scholar
(With University of Melbourne authentication) Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.