This is the "Home: books, journals" page of the "Arabic and Islamic Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Feb 16, 2014 URL: http://unimelb.libguides.com/arabic_islamic_studies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home: books, journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Arabic and Islamic Studies resources

Books for Arabic and Islamic Studies (both in English and Arabic) are held in the Baillieu Library, and are intershelved with the general collection.

 

The call number for Arabic language materials is 492. For example:

  • al-Mawrid al-akbar : qāmūs Inkilīzī-ʻArabī ḥadīth / taʼlīf Munīr Baʻlabakkī ; atammahu wa-rājaʻahu Ramzī Munīr al-Baʻlabakkī = al-Mawrid Al-Akbar : a modern English-Arabic dictionary / by Munir Baalbaki ; completed and reviewed by Ramzi Munir Baalbaki. (المورد الأكبر :‏ ‏قاموس إنكليزي - عربي حديث /‏ ‏تأليف منير البعلبكى ؛ أتمه وراجعه: رمزي منير البعلبكي.)  UniM Bail 492.7321 BALA

  • Modern Iraqi Arabic with MP3 files : a textbook / Yasin M. Alkalesi. UniM Bail 492.709567 ALKH

 


E-books:

Find e-books by searching for "electronic resource" as a keyword search, then click on the "modify this search" button and select Arabic language. This shows the full range of Arabic e-books we have.

While searching on the catalogue more broadly, items with [electronic resource] after the title are all e-books.

 


Kotobarabia Modern Arab Renaissance Collection (KMAR)  - http://unimelb.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/V/?func=native-link&resource=UOM03815

This is an electronic archive of books published 1820-1914 from Egypt, Syria and the Islamic World. With over 2,500 titles, this collection covers humanistic, intellectual and scientific fields. Subject categories include philosophy and theology, literature, arts, history and politics, including writings from Mahmoud Abdo, Gamal El Din El Afgahany and Rashid Reda.

 

Kotobarabia Arabic E-Library (KAEL) –  http://unimelb.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/V/?func=native-link&resource=UOM03816

 

The Kotobarabia E-Library delivers over 3,500 contemporary and classic Arabic books from Egypt in e-book form for the first time. Works in the collection are divided into 29 thematic categories and several subcategories.  It includes all types of publications: banned literature, fiction, non-fiction, scholarly and popular.

 

Kotobarabia: Arab Leaders, Historians and Philosophers Collection -  http://dlib.eastview.com.ezp.lib.unimelb.edu.au/browse/udb/1710

A compendium of early works of an astounding variety of disciplines from important Arab writers, spanning fields from feminism and social theory, to classics of literature, history, and the sciences. Incluudes works by the Four Imams of the Sunni Sect, the Al Azhar Modern Sheikhs; various authors of the Modern Arab Enlightenment, and rare works by the former Egyptian royal family.

 

Journals

Access to these online journals may require your UniMelb login and password.


American Journal of Islamic Social Sciences UniM Bail P  297.05 AMER v.11- 1994-
Arabica UniM Bail P 950.05 A658 v.8-v.54, 1961-2007 (also available online 1954-)
Islamic Law and Society UniM Bail P 340.5905 ISLA v.1-v.13. 1994-2006 (also available online 1994-)
Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies online only 1996-
Journal of Islamic Studies UniM Bail P 909.097671 JOUR v.6-v.15, 1995-2004 (also available online 1990-)
Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs UniM Bail P 305.6971 JOUR v.16-v.24 1996-2004  (also available online 1979-)
Muslim World UniM Bail P 915.097671 MUSL v.39-v.88 1949-1998 (also available online 1911-)
Studia Islamica UniM Bail P 297.05 STUD no.13-no.102/103, 1960-2006 (lacks several issues)
(also available online 1953-2007)








Arts Liaison Team - East Asian Collection

Profile Image
Michelle Hall
Contact Info
Ground floor, Baillieu Library
Phone: +(61 3) 8344 5365
Send Email
 

MUL 134

From the library's manuscript collection. See more information here: http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/collections/special/collections/rarebooks/memss.html

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip