Articles on South East Asian law may appear in many journals, not just Asian law journals, and not just law journals. To find articles on your legal topic or SE Asian jurisdiction, irrespective of the journal in which they appear, we recommend the following law and inter-disciplinary journal databases.
LAW JOURNAL DATABASES
AGIS Plus Text (INFORMIT) (UniMelb access) - indexing and full text database of over 140 Australasian and Asia-Pacific scholarly law journals. Includes many articles written about Asian jurisdictions. An Coverage: Index from 1975+. Full text journals from 1995+.
Asian Law Online (Melbourne Law School) (Open access) - regularly updated English language materials on Asian law, including books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.
SSRN (open access) - multijurisdictional. The best source of very recent scholarship. Includes research papers, and forthcoming journal articles and book chapters.
Index to Legal Periodicals (UniMelb access) - multijurisdictional. Contains over 1,200 full-text journals, and indexes and abstracts for hundreds of law journals, law reviews, yearbooks, bar association publications and university publications.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (UniMelb access) - indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
HEIN Online Law Journal Library (UniMelb access) - multijurisdictional. Includes over 2,300 law journals and reviews - all from the first volume. The best source for older articles.
LegalTrac (Gale) (UniMelb access) Indexing for approx 875 journals, some full text. Multijurisdictional. Coverage:1980+
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (UniMelb access) Multilingual index to 470 legal journals from all jurisdictions other than the United States, the UK, Canada and Australia. Also indexes yearbooks and published collections of legal essays. Coverage: 1985+
Westlaw UK (UniMelb access) - includes Legal Journals Index and full text Law Journals. Index of more than 430 UK and European legal journals. Coverage: 1986+
Westlaw World Journals (UniMelb access) - from the Westlaw home page, select International Materials, then World Journals from the right hand menu.
BERITA - Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei/ASEAN Database (INFORMIT) (UniMelb access) - extensive coverage of articles on Southeast Asian countries, including education, business, law, science, and politics. Coverage from 1990 to current.
Bibliography of Asian Studies - (UniMelb access) includes articles on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) about East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide, since 1971.
East & South Asia Database - (UniMelb access) includes 160 full-text academic journals. Topic coverage includes business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Academic Search Complete (UniMelb access) - a multidisciplinary full-text database, providing access to more than 8,600 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Hsieh, Pasha L and Mercurio, Bryan Christopher, 'ASEAN Law in the New Regional Economic Order: An Introductory Roadmap to the ASEAN Economic Community' in Pasha L Hsieh & Bryan Mercurio (eds) ASEAN Law in the New Regional Economic Order: Global Trends and Shifting Paradigms (Cambridge University Press, 2019, Forthcoming)
Yang, Xinglong, 'Implementation of the Joint Interpretation Mechanism Under the ASEAN Comprehensive Investment Agreement: Obstacles and Pragmatic Steps for the ASEAN' (2018) 11(1) Contemporary Asia Arbitration Journal 117-136
Limsiritong, Nattapat, 'Why ASEAN Fails to Play Role in the Rohingya Situation from the Perspective of ASEAN Charter' (2017) 1(2) Asian Political Science Review
Fisher, David I, 'The "Regional and National Context" Under the ASEAN Human Rights Declaration and Its Implications for Minority Rights' (Faculty of Law Research Paper No 50, Stockholm University, 2017)
Asian Journal of Social Science - e-journal. Vol 1 (1973) to current (UniMelb staff & student access)
Contemporary Southeast Asia: A Journal of International and Strategic Affairs - e-journal. Vol 1 1979 to current (UniMelb staff & student access)