Skip to main content

Staying Current: Keep your research up-to-date: Books & New Library Materials

Keep up-to-date with new research in your area with journal and book alerts, RSS Feeds, TOC Alerts and Conference Alerts.

Request a New Book

Send your book, media and other purchase recommendations to orders-library@unimelb.edu.au

Book Publishers

Bookwire makes it easier for people to discover, evaluate, order, and experience books. Powered by Bowker's Books in Print® database, Bookwire makes it easy to search and discover over 20 million book titles, including print, e-books, audio books and more.

Global Books in Print

Global Books In Print is the industry’s leading international bibliographic database offering more than 8 million English-language titles from the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. PLUS access to annotations, tables of contents, cover images, awards and full-text reviews. WITH market filter to focus searches on specific countries with over 40 search criteria and inventory availability from over 20 top vendors in the U.S., Canada, U.K., and Australia. AND a complete Publisher Authority Database, Enhanced Hooks to Holdings and Links to OCLC WorldCat to search local and worldwide library catalogs.Global Books in Print

Bowker's Forthcoming Bookroom

FORTHCOMING FACTS:
Click on the "Hot New Releases" tab and see the exact release dates of forthcoming books.

Award Winners

Is the paperback edition of the previous National Book Award winner scheduled for publication in the next 6 months? Click Go! to search for all forthcoming editions of award winning titles.

Books, Blogs and Reviews

Book Reviews can help identify books in a subject, published recently which could be worthwhile reading.

To find Book Reviews you can search Academic Search Premier (Ebsco).  Limit your results by document type "book reviews" and enter some search terms in the search boxes.

The following journal, available in Academic Search Premier covers Literature & Literacy Criticism, presenting reviews of both fiction, non-fiction as well as essays relating to literary culture.

New York Times Book Review

 

Other databases may offer similar features or try finding Book Reviews on the Web from reputable sources.

 

NYT Book Review Podcast

American Book Review

 

Book Blogs may further contribute to background knowledge.

Please submit links you may want to share.

 

The Guardian Books Blog

Library Catalogue Alerts

Preferred Searches

From the Library Catalogue

Login to Patron record

  1. Run a search and click Save Search Button.
  2. To access your saved Search Click on the Preferred Searches from yourPatron Record 
  3. Preferred Searches can be viewed, launched, and deleted from your Patron Record.

Email Alerts

Email Alerts will send you information on new titles matching your Preferred Searches.

 Login to Patron record

  1. Click on Preferred Searches
  2. Tick the searches for which your wish to receive alerts
  3. Alerts are automatically sent to the email address in your Patron Record every Monday morning.

University of Melbourne Library blogs

 Keep Up to Date

  • E-Resources - promoting new databases and online tools, database trials and research tools.  
  • Library IT tips - tips on using library software and tools.  
  • Library News - keep-up-to-date with what's happening in the University of Melbourne Library

Libraries Australia

The heart of Libraries Australia is the Australian National Bibliographic Database (ANBD), which records the location details of over 42 million items held in most Australian academic, research, national, state, public and special libraries.

Libraries Australia 

Libraries Australia also keeps up-to-date a lists of:

Recent Australian Publications divided in subject lists

This free monthly reference service listing Australia's recent publishing output is of interest to all engaged in research and the provision of information. You can find new publications on numerous and diverse subjects, as all subject areas are eligible for inclusion in RAP. The categories of publications listed are many and varied and include electronic resources, books, serials, music and pamphlets. Each publication has been published during the current or previous two years. Works are either published in Australia, written by Australians, or have Australian content.

Recent Australian Government Publications 

This free monthly reference service listing Australia's recent government publishing output is of interest to all engaged in research and the provision of information. Each publication has been published during the current or previous two years by a government department or agency.

The records in this file are derived from the Australian National Bibliographic Database (ANBD), maintained by the National Library of Australia. Records from the GovRAP are a subset of the ANBD and are created by Australian libraries.

OCLC WorldCat

WorldCat produced by the Online Computer Library Centre (OCLC) is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat contains more than 1.4 billion items contributed by over 10,000 libraries worldwide, including material dating from 1000 A.D. It is updated on a daily basis.

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.

Create lists of library items you'd like to keep track of or share with others.

Video Tutorial - How to use WorldCat Lists? (Youtube)

WorldCat

Trove

TROVE is a discovery tool providing ease-of-use functionality to find material in various formats published or held in Australia and elsewhere

New national Australian Discovery Service, providing access to printed, electronic, pictorial, newspaper, research, map, music & archival material.

Trove was designed to:

  • provide a single point of access to the resources of the deep web
  • facilitate access to a significantly greater range of resources from major sources, including selected digitised material freely available online
  • support searching of, and access to, full-text content
  • enhance ease of discovery by providing improved relevance ranking, refinement by facets, FRBR-like grouping of related items (Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Records) and exploitation of thesauri
  • engage with communities and individuals through annotation services
  • ensure that relevant information is not missed in a search by reducing the need to search material-specific discovery services separately
  • provide a platform for niche services to query a vast resource of Australian metadata and adapt if for their own needs.

What can I find here?

You can find information about resources collected by Australia's memory institutions, such as:

  • books, theses, reports, research articles, raw data sets, book chapters, conference proceedings as well as papers and records
  • maps and audio-visual materials including photographs, artworks, postcards, videos, musical sound, sheet music and sound recordings of interview
  • the full-text of major Australian newspapers, from 1803 to 1954
  • copies of selected Australian websites which may no longer be available online or in their original form
  • people and organisations

 

When you search Trove, each result may actually be a group of records. For example, all versions of "Possum Magic" by Mem Fox should be grouped together, so that only one appears in your results. When you click on this result, you will see a list of all the versions and editions in the group. This group can be referred to as a "work".

 

What am I searching?

Trove provides integrated access to over 45 million items from a range of the National Library's collaborative services and from elsewhere.

Metadata (information about items) is pooled from Australian sources including:

and overseas sources including:

 

Text (the item itself) of