Video Streaming Databases
Search for individual titles using the Online Video option in the Library catalogue.
You can also access database collections of videos. The Alexander Street Press and Kanopy video streaming collections are extensive. Digital Theatre Plus is another great resource.
The following links will take you to each video streaming database:
- KanopyThis database contains over 20,000 videos from the world’s most prominent filmmakers and production houses. Specially curated collections cover a wide range educational disciplines including literacy, mathematics, history and issues in society. Kanopy offers a large range of Australian content and videos can be searched using the library catalogue.
- EduTVA video streaming service of over 50,000 programs from free-to-air (NITV, SBS, SBS World Movies, SBS Viceland, ABC) and pay TV channels (Premiere, Fox Classics, Fox Showcase, BBC First, National Geographic, BBC World News, CNN) in Australia. Coverage commences with 2006 and includes over 20,000 TV and documentary clips and over 5000 films.
- Dance in VideoContains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.
- Digital Theatre PlusDigital Theatre Plus works in partnership with leading theatre companies, education organisations and arts collectives in the U.K. to provide theatre and drama resources. The database features recent British theatre productions captured authentically onscreen in high definition, with study guides, teaching support and exclusive behind-the-scenes insights from theatre-makers.
- Anthropology Online (Alexander Press)Brings together a wide range of resources - including streaming video - from all over the world.
- Internet Archive : Moving Image ArchiveThis library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
- Jacob's Pillow Dance InteractiveFree video resources from the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, with dance clips and information from the 1930s to today. Viewers may click on an artist, genre or era to search through clips.
- Open Culture - DanceOpen Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.
- UbuWebLarge educational resource of avant-garde material in the fields of visual, concrete and sound poetry. It also includes film and sound archives.
Archive & Museum Film Collections
- Australian National Film & Sound ArchiveThe nation’s living archive – collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audiovisual heritage. Includes an indigenous collection.
- ACMI Australian Centre for the Moving Image- Collection Data ExplorerThis search tool provides experimental access to what used to be ACMI’s lending collection. It contains roughly 38,000 items dating back to the 1890s across a wide range of styles – feature films, shorts, documentaries, student works, instructional and experimental films.
Find DVDs
The easiest way to find DVDs/Videos in the Library Catalogue is to do a keyword search. You can also search using title, author or subject. Limit to DVD Collections.
Each catalogue record contains information about the DVD/Video. To find similar material, click the links for subject headings, directors or actors etc.
You can also do an Advanced Keyword search to enter more details.
