Skip to main content

Finding Images

A guide to searching and locating images.

Image Collections at the University of Melbourne

Eric Gill, Venus and Cupid with the Golden Cockerel, 1928, Special Collections, Baillieu Library, The University of Melbourne

 

 

The Collection includes prints (mostly etchings, engravings, mezzotints, lithographs, woodcuts and wood engravings) that date from the fifteenth to the twentieth century. The print collection is entirely searchable and its database is available online. To view prints in person, please submit a request via the Reading Room.

The Museum has a strong Australian focus, but also covers areas such as classics and archaeology collections, international Indigenous cultural material, decorative arts, and a collection of 20th century poster designs. The collection of contemporary art includes many Australian and international artists who have held residencies at the university. Search their catalogue to find images.

Search for digitised images from the collections of the University of Melbourne Archives.

Located in the School of Culture and Communication, the VCRC includes a collection of slides, 16mm films, a video and DVD collection, photographs and microfilms, as well as reference books, general texts, key journals and an Honours thesis collection. The collection is  for research purposes only and borrowing is not permitted.

Location: Third floor, East Tower John Medley Building . Visual Resources Librarian --  Jane Brown 

The University of Melbourne has a rich collection of material in microform which includes many thousands of images. The images can be printed or scanned into a digital format. Some prominent collections include: the Witt library and Conway collections, the New York Public library artists files and Leonardo da Vinci nature studies.  It is located in the basement of the Baillieu Library. 

See staff for assistance or refer to the Using Microform guide.