Skip to main content

Finding Images

A guide to searching and locating images.

Galleries & Museums - Websites

Australia

National Gallery of Australia (Canberra) Browse or search the collections online

National Gallery of Victoria  Access the NGV International and NGV Australia (Ian Potter Centre) collections online

Australian Centre for Contemporary Art (ACCA) is the only major public art gallery in Australia focused on commissioning rather than collecting contemporary art

Museum of Contemporary Art (Sydney) dedicated to exhibiting, collecting and interpreting the work of today’s artists

Powerhouse Museum (Sydney) search their database of objects collected from 1880 to the present day

Centre for Contemporary Photography (CCP) search images from their exhibitions of contemporary photo-based arts  

Outre Gallery  an alternative gallery dealing in contemporary international pop, lowbrow, pop surrealism and underground art.

Art guide - Provides a listing of exhibitions, artists and galleries throughout Australia

 

Asia & Middle East

Freer and Sackler Galleries (Smithsonian Institute) collections of Eastern and Islamic art.

 

Europe

Louvre Museum (Paris) houses art from the 6th millennium BC to the 19th century AD. Databases are in both French and English.

Musee d’Orsay (Paris) includes online access to Musee de l’Orangerie

Museo Nacional del Prado (Madrid)  The Online gallery provides access to the Museum collection.  Some images have audio giving information about the works.

State Hermitage Museum (St Petersburg)  provides access to images of art and artefacts - paintings, graphic works, sculptures and works of applied art, archaeological finds and numismatic material

Vatican Museums  (Rome) Access a virtual tour of the Museums as well as 3 online collections of selected works.

Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam)  offers an overview of Dutch art and history from the Middle Ages onwards, and of major aspects of European and Asian art, and includes Rembrandt & Vermeer

 

UK

The National Gallery (London)  has one of the great collections of European painting in the world

TATE Gallery (London) including links to the Tate Modern, holds the national collection of British art from 1500 and of international modern art

British Museum (London) houses a vast collection of world art and artefacts dedicated to human history and culture

 

USA

Museum of Modern Art MOMA (New York) Search the online collection by Work, Artist and Keyword or Browse subjects.

J. Paul Getty Museum  (California) search European paintings, drawings, manuscripts, sculpture and decorative arts, European and American photographs and Greek, Roman, and Etruscan antiquities

Guggenheim Museum (New York) website also searched the Guggenheim collections in Venice, Bilboa and Abu Dhabi

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York  The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s online collection database provides access to works of art and museum pieces.

Georgia O’Keefe Museum Collections Online The museum in Santa Fe, New Mexico, has made more than 3,000 items from its collections available online