Skip to main content

Finding Images

A guide to searching and locating images.

Art & Design - Websites

General

Google Art Project   is a collaboration between Google and 151 acclaimed art galleries and musuems from across 40 countries, showcasing artwork such as paintings, drawings, sculptures, historic and religious artefacts, photographs and important manuscripts

Artsy  Comprising of over artworks by 5,500+ artists from leading galleries, museums, private collections, foundations, and artists’ estates spanning diverse cultures and time periods. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.

Artchive More than 2,000 high-quality scans of artwork by Mark Harden. From Abakanowicz to Wyeth.

Web Gallery of Art  A virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts from 11th to 19th centuries

  

Australia

Trove (including Picture Australia) Search photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures, as well as physical objects such as puzzles, instruments and clothing.

Australian Libraries Gateway: Online Exhibitions  Provides links to online exhibitions that are created and maintained by libraries throughout Australia. See Online Exhibitions tick box

State Library of Victoria holds a collection of digitised pictures and images of biographical, cultural, environmental, historical, sociological and topographical images relating to Victoria.

National Association for the Visual Arts (NAVA) A gateway to Australian visual arts and crafts.  View recent online galleries for contemporary artists

 

UK

VADS (UK) is an online resource of visual art collections with particular strengths in fashion and design

 

USA

Fantastic in Art and Fiction A visual resource for the study of the Fantastic or of the supernatural in fiction and in art from Cornell University.  

Artcyclopedia - The Fine Art Search Engine This site allows you to search for images of the works of over 7500 artists. You can also search by artwork title and museum/gallery, or browse by medium, movement, subject and nationality.

 

Other

Himalayan Art Resources The Himalayan Art project exhibits and catalogues Himalayan and Tibetan art from collections around the world.

Corbis Images Provides access to a wide range of rights managed and royalty free images. The Fine Arts section includes many important collections e.g. Andy Warhol Foundation, Ansel Adams and the Brett Weston Archive. The Archives and the Current events sections include images of war, key historical events and photojournalism.