Skip to main content

Finding Images

A guide to searching and locating images.

Photography - Websites

Many of the other tabs contain photographic images.  Remember to check these links too

Australia

National Gallery of Victoria collects work by both Australian and international photographers.  See their online image galleries

Centre for Contemporary Photography (CCP) search images from their exhibitions of contemporary photo-based arts 

Trove (including Picture Australia). Search photographs, negatives, artworks, drawings, posters, postcards and other pictures, as well as physical objects such as puzzles, instruments and clothing.

 

Other

Time and Life Pictures A photo gallery of images taken for the Time/Life magazine including some of the world's most recognizable imagery. Offers content from photojournalists, documenting past and present political and cultural events, as well as celebrities and the American experience

Life Photo Archive Search through the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google

Retronaut  Strange, unusual, eclectic.  Retronaut has it all.  Search by categories or eras

Maynard L. Parker collection Photographic archives consists of negatives, transparencies, and photographs, office records and business correspondence related to a wide range of American architects, publishers, and designers of the postwar era.

Corbis Images Provides access to a wide range of rights managed and royalty free images. Coverage includes: Documentary, Fine Art, Archival, News & Sport and Entertainment

Walter Gordon Collection of Photographs   Features photographs in the African American newspaper, the California Edge and including members of the Black community in Los Angeles such as Val Verde, local political figures, and a range of jazz legends, such as Count Basie and Billie Holliday