Skip to main content

Finding Images

A guide to searching and locating images.

Science, Technology & Architecture - Websites

Australia

Discovery Centre covering Melbourne Museum, Scienceworks, Immigration Museum includes some online exhibitions

 

Other

NASA images current, historical, space, astronomy.  Search the amazing image galleries from NASA

Hubble gallery  Explore the universe through Hubble's eye, and witness the most dangerous, spectacular and mysterious depths of the cosmos 

Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Search for aircraft, spacecraft, engines, rockets, uniforms, spacesuits, balloons and artwork

Science and Society Picture Library  Representing the visual collections of the Science Museum, Media Museum and Railway Museum in London

Medical Artifacts Collection (Virginia Commonwealth University) includes surgical, dental, and diagnostic instruments, therapeutic devices, uniforms of healthcare professions, and medical furniture related to the history of health care in Virginia since 1838

U.S. National Library of Medicine  Images from the history of Medicine provides access to the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM)which includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century

National Geographic galleries include:   Animals, Nature and Weather, Landscapes, People and Culture, Travel and Underwater

Galaxy of Images (Smithsonian Institution Libraries) images digitized from printed books and manuscripts in the collections of Smithsonian Institution Libraries

New York Public Library Digital Gallery images from the collections of the New York Public Library including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, etc.

Retronaut  Strange, unusual, eclectic.  Retronaut has it all.  Search by categories or eras

Archivision architecture and visual arts photo library supplying high quality images for educational and commercial usage

Structurae  A database with images of bridges, tunnels, buildings,dams, portaits, and products relating to structural and civil engineering