Supplied here a tips for searching and accessing music theses. For further information on finding theses, visit the Finding Theses Guide.
Theses are listed on the library catalogue and can be searched by the usual author, title, subject or keyword options.
A comprehensive list of music theses completed in all faculties and departments of the University of Melbourne is achieved via a KEYWORD search.
For theses from the Faculty of Music (to 2009) and the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music (from 2009) use keywords "music thesis university melbourne".
For theses from the Victorian College of the Arts use keywords "music thesis victorian college arts"
It is mandatory for University of Melbourne theses to be added to the Digital Repository. Music theses completed at the university and available online are found by using the search term "music".
The University of Melbourne Thesis Collection
holds archival copies of all Masters by Research and PhD theses completed at the University.
The theses are not available for loan.
They are accessed in the Cultural Collections Reading Room in the Baillieu Library (or other locations as indicated in the catalogue).
This collection is not browseable on open shelves, and individual theses will be retrieved from storage upon request.
Only theses written in the last ten years are held in the Baillieu Library. The remainder of the collection is held in off-site storage and can also be retrieved upon request. Theses with the status UNIM AT CARM in the library catalogue at held off-site. Four working days notice is required for retrieval of material held off-site.
Requests for theses can be made online prior to visiting the reading room. To order material, it is best to use online request form.
Theses are available to be photocopied either partially or as a whole. Self-copying is not available, and all copying orders must be processed through the Reading Room. Please ask staff for details of copying charges and turnaround times.
A very selective list of theses, with abstracts, maintained by J. P. E. Harper-Scott (Royal Holloway, Univ. of London). Lists international dissertations both completed and in progress. Includes abstracts and links to other theses lists.
From the Musicological Society of Australia. This Register spans the period 1917 to 2008. "Our primary on-going aim is to catalogue all music-related research projects in Australia and New Zealand and to make this information available to all interested parties in a format that is useful to them... We strongly encourage all current postgraduates to register their project with us."
ncludes references to over 14,000 completed and in-progress dissertations from about 1950 onwards. There are no abstracts and does not include the dissertations themselves. The database is fully searchable by author and or by as many as three simultaneous keywords in any part of the record. DDM-Online is also browsable by general, historical period.
Restricted to University of Melbourne
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale is an index to music books, journal articles, dissertations, essays, reviews, Festschriften, iconographies, etc. Includes an abstract (in English) and links to fulltext where available.
Paper indexes to music theses:
can be found using library catalogues.
are not as up-to-date as online listings.
Also, many research bibliographies list theses. Some examples are:
compiled and annotated by Frank Gillis and Alan P. Merriam. Middletown, Conn., Published for the Society for Ethnomusicology by the Wesleyan University Press  (Special series in ethnomusicology, v. 1)
Centre for Studies in Australian Music, University of Melbourne, (1996). UniM Music REF 016.780994 REGI This is a collation of all theses which deal with music and musical life in Australia, whether written in Australia or overseas. Note that this 1996 publication is the only edition to date. Subsequent listings available from issues of the periodical Musicology Australia, v.8- 1985- UniM Music P MUSI