Skip to main content

Education Collections and Services

This guide will introduce you to the services, facilities and resources available to students and academic staff.

Library Catalogue : Search for curriculum resources

Enter your topic keywords.  You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection, Picture Books, Junior fiction collection or Kits collection.

Note: the Junior fiction collection is aimed at readers ages 8-18 - select this option if you want to find Young Adult fiction

 

Education Collections

Education Collection

The general Education collection offers coverage of education related subjects to support the research and teaching of needs of students, including areas such as:

  • Curriculum theory
  • Educational psychology
  • Early childhood, primary and secondary education
  • Student well-being
  • Educational research

Curriculum Resources

The curriculum collection contains a range of materials to support your school practicum and enrich your lesson planning including:

  • School level textbooks
  • Kits
  • Junior fiction
  • Picture books
  • Graphic novels

School level Textbooks

This collection includes textbooks that are currently being used in Victorian schools from Foundation level to year 12 and the International baccalaureate.

You will also find an extensive range of non-fiction titles which are catered toward primary and secondary school readers.

Kit collection

Our classroom teaching materials include items such as:

  • Big books
  • Puppets
  • Models
  • Measuring equipment
  • Games and puzzles
  • Musical instruments

You can search for items in the kit collection using the library catalogue, combine keywords to find items to support your lessons e.g. Numeracy AND game* OR puzzle*

Junior Fiction

There are two ranges of junior fiction books.

Picture books aimed at ages of 0-8 years - UniM Giblin Eunson Picture Book

Junior fiction is aimed at ages of 8-16 years - Giblin Eunson J collection

View the Children's Literature Library Guide

Graphic novel collection

The library has a range of resources to support the use of graphic novels in education including a wide selection of fiction and non-fiction graphic novel titles.

    Children's Book Awards Collection - Giblin Eunson Library

    The Giblin Eunson library holds a complete set of award winning children's books from Australia, the UK and the US. Prize winning books are a marker of quality and excellence in children’s literature.

    This collection is located on Upper Ground of the Giblin Eunson library and is only available for use within the library. However, duplicate copies of all titles may be borrowed from the Junior Fiction collection (Giblin Eunson J) and the Picture Book collection (Giblin Eunson  Z) located on Level 1.

    Australian Children's Book Awards

    The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) awards annual prizes in five categories:

    • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers
    • CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers
    • CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood
    • CBCA Picture Book of the Year
    • The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books 

    The Crichton Award for New Illustrators, administered by the Victorian Branch of the CBCA, aims to recognize and encourage new talent in the field of Australian children's book illustration.

    The Inky Award for Youth Literature

    The Prime Minister's Literary Awards for Children's Fiction and Young Adults Fiction.

    The YABBA- Young Australian Best Book Award -a children's choice book award.

    Link to Shortlists for Australian Awards.

    International Children's Book Awards

    British Awards

    • The Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people.
    • The Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

    Link to UK Awards - Winners and Shortlists page

     American Awards

    • The Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

                 Full list of Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present

    • The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

                 Full list of Caldecott Medal & Honor Books, 1938-Present

    • The Michael L. Printz  Award goes annually to "a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature".

                 Full list of Michael L. Printz Award winners 2000- Present 

    Link to U.S. Awards - Winners and Shortlists page