Skip to main content

East Asian Collection: The Collection

This guide describes the services and resources provided by the East Asian Collection, the University of Melbourne Library.

Quick catalogue search

Discovery Search

Discovery - fast track to full text

         

New books information

Other catalogues

Trove New national Australian Discovery Service, providing access to printed, electronic, pictorial, newspaper, research, map, music & archival material.

WorldCat (OCLC)  Search portal for over 10,000 libraries worldwide

ILL

Our Inter-library loans service can provide access to items not held in our libraries or via Bonus+. This service is available to all postgraduate and honours students, as well as University staff.

Monographs Collection

Books are shelved by language. Japanese materials are highlighted with orange colour label on the spine.
 

The East Asian Collection is classified according to the Harvard-Yenching classification scheme for Chinese and Japanese and the Library of Congress Classifications. The Collection Codes for East Asian language materials adopted by the INNOPAC system are as follows:

UniM ERC EA ...... items in the general collection

UniM ERC EA f .... folio items

UniM ERC EA REF .. reference [not for loan]

UniM Baill Spc/EA ...... closed stack [not for loan, use in Cultural Collections Reading Room only. Request items using this form.

UniM ERC P ....... Periodicals

UniM Baill MIC ..... Microform items [Basement, Baillieu]

UniM STO ........... Store

Classification

 

Harvard Yenching Classification (catalogued pre June 2012)

分类总目 TABLE OF MAIN CLASSES

100-999 中国 经学类 CHINESE CLASSICS
1000-1999 哲学宗教类 PHILOSOPHY AND RELIGION
2000-3999 历史科学类 HISTORICAL SCIENCES
4000-4999 社会科学类 SOCIAL SCIENCES
5000-5999 语言文学类 LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
6000-6999 美术游艺类 FINE AND RECREATIVE ARTS
7000-7999 自然科学类 NATURAL SCIENCES
8000-8999 农业工艺类 AGRICULTURE AND TECHNOLOGY
9000-9999 总录书志类 GENERALIA AND BIBLIOGRAPHY

The main classes and sub-classes of the HY classification can be viewed from the following URL: http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/collections/asian/Harvard-Yenching.html

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION

TABLE OF MAIN CLASSES

A --  GENERAL WORKS

B --  PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION

C --  AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

D --  WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE

K -- LAW

L -- EDUCATION

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N -- FINE ARTS

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Q -- SCIENCE

R -- MEDICINE

S -- AGRICULTURE

T -- TECHNOLOGY

U -- MILITARY SCIENCE

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)

Western language reference books

The East Asian Collection has a small basic Western language reference works for use with the East Asian language materials. They are classified in Dewel Decimal Classification.