AGRICOLA is a citation index compiled by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. The index includes journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. This extensive database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields.
APNI is a tool for the botanical community that deals with plant names and their usage in the scientific literature, whether as a current name or synonym. APNI does not recommend any particular taxonomy or nomenclature. For a listing of currently accepted scientific names for the Australian vascular flora, see the Australian Plant Census (APC).
Indexes more than 700 international journals, 1934-present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. We recommend this database if your research topic has a garden or landscape design focus.
The Burnley Plant Guide (BPG) is an indexed, searchable database of plants that has been developed to support the learning of plants by students at the University of Melbourne, particularly those who undertake courses at its Burnley Campus. The database contains information on over 2,700 plant species or cultivars, and more than 7,500 images illustrating plant recognition characters, plant habitat, form, and use in the landscape. The plants included are based on those taught in undergraduate and postgraduate subjects and are for the most part, common in cultivation in south-eastern Australia.
Agriculture, Environment and Life Sciences CAB Abstracts is the premier international database for agriculture, veterinary science and forestry. It indexes literature from 1910, covering the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture (including horticulture), forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
The Environment Design Guide (EDG) published by the Australian Institute of Architects, is a source of environmental design advice for architects and building professionals. EDG was launched in 1995, with its mission to promote sustainable practice in the built environment. EDG comprises peer-reviewed, regularly updated design notes on built-environment sustainability. It is updated with new and revised notes year-round. EDG News is an e-newsletter with news and opinion, briefs and reviews, abstracts from papers, and listings of upcoming events and seminars. It is published every 2 months and is free
Provides access to articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. The focus of this index is horticulture, gardens and plants. Subject coverage includes: horticulture; botany; garden, landscape design & history; ecology; plants; garden conservation & management; and therapeutic horticulture. Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed titles, academic titles or magazines. It includes some full text links and many titles that are not indexed by other databases, for example, important trade titles such as Australian Horticulture and American Nurseryman.
Global Plants, previously titled Plant Science, is an online environment bringing together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. Covering the world’s largest database of plant type specimens which when complete will contain an estimated 2.2 million specimens, over 175,000 scientific research articles and other content dating back hundreds of years, including reference works and books, correspondence such as the Kew’s Directors' Correspondence containing hand-written letters and memorandum from the senior staff of Kew from 1841 to 1928 and more than 20,000 paintings, photographs, drawings, and other images. Users can create a "MyPlants" account, which enables you to save many of your actions on the JSTOR Global Plants site, including links to objects, image measurements, and zoomed in views.
(EBSCO) Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment and is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
A rich resource for garden, art and architectural historians, this primary source collection of 178 titles covers a broad range of subjects regarding the theory and practice of gardening, horticulture and garden design. Technological aspects are treated as well as garden ornaments, garden buildings, plant use, and the construction of green houses.
Informit Online offers a wide range of databases and full content publications that provide access to Australasian scholarly research.
SEARCH TIP: On the first screen, choose 'select all' databases and then press the 'continue' button to retrieve resources relevant to your topic, from the full range of Informit Databases.
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names. The data are freely available and are gradually being standardized and checked. IPNI will be a dynamic resource, depending on direct contributions by all members of the botanical community.
IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium
Interdisciplinary content to support research and teaching.
The Biological Sciences Collection brings together the 29 journals available in our existing Ecology & Botany Collection with more than 130 titles that span the sciences. The collection is particularly strong in ecology and evolutionary biology, plant and animal sciences, paleontology, and conservation.
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
A multidisciplinary comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
The census in VicFlora lists the scientific names of the native and naturalised vascular plants known to occur or to have occurred in Victoria. Each scientific name is accompanied by its author(s), and reference to its place of original publication is given on the profile page for each taxon. The conservation status of those taxa considered to be rare or threatened is provided on profile pages and those plants of exogenous or uncertain origin are indicated.
A collection of nine databases including:Flora Information System, Wild Plants of Victoria, Just-a-minute Victorian Plants and Wild Plants of South-eastern Australia. All contain details of description, location, distributions and identification aids.
A multi-disciplinary database for researchers in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities. A powerful feature of Web of Science is citation tracking. Web of Science offers features to: track the work of a noted authority; verify the accuracy of a cited reference that has been listed in a bibliography; analyse the impact of published research or to keep up to date with what has been published in your field.
This site has been created by the Australian Weeds Committee to promote access to key weed policies, regulations, current issues, national initiatives, research, extension, training and personnel. It is our hope that anyone involved in weed management will find this site useful and provide feedback and comment, so that it can be continually improved. Searchable databases available.
PlantFile Online contains profiles of over 3,700 species with over 5,200 cultivars. The database is suitable for southern and northern hemispheres. It allows you to sort, select and identify commonly used plants and print reports. It also covers common pests and diseases with their control methods. It is an ideal resource for students, landscapers or anyone with an interest in plants.
Journals, Theses, Trade & Professional Publications
Especially useful for HORT20028 Landscape Technology run by Ian Winstone. Be aware that you need to follow the special log-in instructions for ABCB, which are detailed in the catalogue record for that database (Access Information).
ABCB Codes & Standards database provides a nationally accepted and uniform set of technical requirements for all areas of building, from design to construction. The National Construction Code (NCC) was developed by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) on behalf of the Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments, and is referred to as the building regulation in all States and Territories of Australia. This service provides access to the National Construction Code (NCC), which consists of the Building Code of Australia (BCA) + the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA), and the Australian Standards referenced by the codes.
Standards On-Line Premium is a web-based service that provides always up-to-date access to the full collection of Australian Standards, plus optional access to international Standards from ISO, IEC, EN, ETSI, NSAI, JSA, and a searchable index of standards from ANSI, BSI, DIN and ASTM.