Library Catalogue : Search for curriculum resources
Enter your topic keywords. You can search across all of our Education Curriculum Collections or you can select 1 of 6 specific collection (from drop-down menu). eg Textbook collection or Kits collection.
Where to find the curriculum and media collections
The Education Curriculum and Media Collections can be found on Level 1 of the Giblin Eunson Library.
Discover a range of resources to support your assessment tasks and placements: 3D-objects, models, toys, games, big books, board books, picture books, young adult fiction, DVDs, CDs, charts, pictures and multi-piece sets.
This guide also features streamed videos and digital resources you can access online and use within your teaching.
Wordless board books & picture books
Items within this growing collection can be used to support conversational reading as outlined by the Abecedarian Approach.
Search strategy:
The following strategy will find wordless picture books and wordless board books.
Select a keyword search and limit to picture books from the drop down menu.
Use the following keywords: wordless book*
The baby's catalogue / Janet and Allan Ahlberg.UniM Giblin Eunson Z AHLB [Board book]
Welcome to the zoo / Alison Jay. UniM Giblin Eunson Z JAY [Board book]
Bluebird / Bob Staake. UniM Giblin Eunson Z STAA [Picture book]
A ball for Daisy / Chris Raschka. UniM Giblin Eunson Z RASC [Picture book]
The lion & the mouse / Jerry Pinkney. UniM Giblin Eunson Z PINK [Picture book]
Flora and the flamingo / by Molly Idle UniM Giblin Eunson Z IDLE [Picture book]
The following article presents a research-based rationale for using wordless books and offers examples of wordless picture books along with suggestions for how to use them to support the literacy of young learners:
Jalongo, R. M., Dragich, D., Conrad, N.K & Zhang, A. (2002). Using Wordless Picture Books to Support Emergent Literacy. Early Childhood Education Journal, 29(3), 167-177. <https://ezp.lib.unimelb.edu.au/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ehh&AN=11305212&site=eds-live&scope=site>
Board books
Our board books are shelved next to the Graphic Novels collection (please ask at the desk if you need help with locating them)
Search strategy:
The following strategy will find board books.
Select a keyword search and limit to picture books from the drop down menu.
Use the following keywords: board book*
Farm 123 / Rod Campbell. UniM Giblin Eunson Z CAMP
Tiddler : the story-telling fish / Julia Donaldson , Axel Scheffler. UniM Giblin Eunson Z DONA
Diary of a wombat / Jackie French ; illustrated by Bruce Whatley. UniM Giblin Eunson Z FREN
The waterhole : a counting book / Graeme Base. UniM Giblin Eunson Z BASE
Learning Games curriculum series
The Creative Curriculum is a conceptual framework for early childhood development. The LearningGames series is a component of the Abecedarian Approach and outlines a set of adult-child interaction games which can be used by early childhood educators.
Kits for Early Childhood education
The education curriculum collections incorporate a broad range of kits which provide learning resources to support early learners play and emergent literacy and numeracy.
Play and group activities:
Super groups [videorecording] : creating engaging group times / Educational Productions. UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 371.36 SUPE
Linking literacy and play [kit] UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 428.6 LINK
New sprouts [toy] : classroom play food set. UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 641 NEW
Play-gym activity cards. UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 790.1922 PLA
Parachute games with DVD / Todd Strong, Dale N. LeFevre. UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 793 STRO
Child development:
Teaching strategies gold [kit] : birth through kindergarten. Assessment toolkit / Cate Heroman ... [et al.].
UniM Giblin Eunson KIT 372.13 TEAC
Robotics kits for learning activities
The library provides access to a small range of robotics kits for use in the classroom. To facilitate equitable access to the robotics kits, please contact Fransie Naude stating the title, call number and planned teaching date.
Robotics kits
- Bee-Bot: programmable floor robot/ TTS Group Ltd./ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 507.1 BEEB Bee-Bot's simple and child friendly layout is a perfect starting point for teaching control, directional language and programming. With a wide range of cross curricular mats to program with, and fun accessories to personalise, Bee-Bot is the must have programming resource for any KS1 classroom. Bee-Bot can accurately move in steps of 15cm, turn in 90° turns, and remembers up to 40 steps! Bee-Bot features include: Sounds and flashing eyes confirm your instructions. Memory of up to 40 steps For ages 3+
- Dash robot/ Wonder Workshop/ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 688.725 DASH Dash is a real robot, charged and ready to play out of the box. Responding to voice, navigating objects, dancing, and singing, Dash is the robot you always dreamed of having. Use Wonder, Blockly, and other apps to create new behaviors for Dash - doing more with robotics than ever possible. For ages 6+
- Ozobot bit classroom kit/ Ozobot, Evollve/ UniM Giblin Eunson Desk 507.1 OZOB Ozobot bits are tiny robots. This kit is designed for any grade K-12. Supporting apps, flexible programming environment and lesson plans make it easy to integrate Ozobots into any curriculum - STEM and beyond.