University of Melbourne Theses
University of Melbourne theses can be identified in the Library Catalogue. Select the Theses search or limit your search to University of Melbourne Theses. You can search by author or title.
If there is a digital thesis available, there will be a link to it in the catalogue record that says "Connect to thesis".
Digital theses can also be found through a Subject Search in the catalogue under "Internet access to thesis" Use the "Limit this search" option to add another term.
Further help may be found in the Finding Theses library guide.
Finding University of Melbourne Music Theses
Masters by Research and PhD theses completed at the University of Melbourne are listed in the Library Catalogue and can be searched by the usual author, title, subject and keyword options, and also by limiting your search to 'University of Melbourne Theses.'
The theses are archival copies that can only be viewed in the Special Collections Reading Room in the Baillieu Library. They are not available for loan. Requests to view a thesis should be made in advance. Please give four days' notice for theses that are older than the current 10 years.
For a comprehensive list of music theses completed in all faculties and departments of the University of Melbourne, use a KEYWORD search:
- For theses from the Faculty of Music (to 2009) and the Faculty of the Victorian College of the Arts and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music (2009- ) use keywords "music thesis university melbourne".
- For theses from the Victorian College of the Arts pre 2007, and the Faculty of the Victorian College of the Arts 2007-2009 use keywords "music thesis victorian college arts".
Music PhD and Masters Research theses are also listed and searchable in Minerva-Access, the University's digital repository. See the VCA & MCM Community on Minerva. Links are provided where a thesis is available for open access.
Find International Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
- DART - Europe e-Theses PortalAccess to digitised theses from European universities. See the list of participating universities.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations OATD . This link opens in a new windowCurrently indexes over 1.5 million theses and dissertations. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions
Find Australian theses
To search for Australian theses use the National Library of Australia’s Trove service.
Finding theses by topic on Trove
Search all Australian theses on Trove by ticking the box labelled Australian content
Search all Australian digital theses on Trove by ticking the box labelled Australian content and then scrolling down to Access and selecting Online by using the drop down menu
Enter keywords in search box. Results will be limited to Australian theses only.
Note: If you search digital theses, results will be limited to digital theses only.
Online Indexes to Music Theses
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography featuring citations, abstracts and subject indexing of content from the early 1800s through to the present. The database includes coverage of relevant articles from more than 10,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music, as well as music-related articles published in conference proceedings; articles in Festschriften celebrating music scholars; and articles in anniversary volumes published in honor of musicians, composers and institutions dating back to the 18th century. Updated monthly.
- Australian & New Zealand Postgraduate Music Research RegisterFrom the Musicological Society of Australia. This Register spans the period 1917 to 2008. "Our primary on-going aim is to catalogue all music-related research projects in Australia and New Zealand and to make this information available to all interested parties in a format that is useful to them... We strongly encourage all current postgraduates to register their project with us."
- DDM-Online: Doctoral Dissertations in Musicologyncludes references to over 14,000 completed and in-progress dissertations from about 1950 onwards. There are no abstracts and does not include the dissertations themselves. The database is fully searchable by author and or by as many as three simultaneous keywords in any part of the record. DDM-Online is also browsable by general, historical period.
- Music Index (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. Coverage commencing from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 490 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.
Printed Lists of Music Theses
- not as up to date as online listings
- can be found using library catalogues
- many research bibliographies also list theses
Some examples are:
- A selective list of masters theses in musicologycompiled for the American Musicological Society by Dominique-René de Lerma. Bloomington, Ind., Denia Press, 1970.
UniM Music REF 016.78 DELE - American music studies : a classified bibliography of master's thesesDetroit : Published for the College Music Society [by] Information Coordinators, 1984. (Bibliographies in American music, no. 8)
- Bibliography of Australian music : an index to monographs, journal articles and thesesjournal articles and theses / compiled by Deborah Crisp. Armidale [N.S.W.] : Australian Music Studies Project, 1982. (Australian music studies, 1)
- Bibliography of theses and dissertations in sacred musicDetroit, Information Coordinators, 1966 [c1967] (Detroit studies in music bibliography, 9)
- Directory of doctoral theses in musicBy Mehta, R. C. (Ramanlal Chhotalal), 1918-
Bombay : Indian Musicological Society, [1995] - Ethnomusicology and folk music: an international bibliography of dissertations and theses.compiled and annotated by Frank Gillis and Alan P. Merriam. Middletown, Conn., Published for the Society for Ethnomusicology by the Wesleyan University Press [1966] (Special series in ethnomusicology, v. 1)
- Igor Stravinsky : an international bibliography of theses and dissertations, 1925-2000Heintze, James R. Warren, Mich. : Harmonie Park Press, 2001. (Detroit studies in music bibliography no. 82).
- Master's theses in music therapy : index and abstractsedited by Cheryl Dileo Maranto and Kenneth E. Bruscia. Philadelphia, PA : Temple University, Esther Boyer College of Music, c1988. (Temple University studies on music therapy education; v.3)
UniM Music REF 016.61585154 MAST - Register of theses in Australian musicCentre for Studies in Australian Music, University of Melbourne, (1996). UniM Music REF 016.780994 REGI This is a collation of all theses which deal with music and musical life in Australia, whether written in Australia or overseas. Note that this 1996 publication is the only edition to date. Subsequent listings available from issues of the periodical Musicology Australia, v.8- 1985- UniM Music P MUSI
- Répertoire international des travaux universitaires relatifs à la musique française du Moyen Age à nos jours : thèses et mémoiresPistone, Danièle. Paris : Honoré Champion, 1992. (Observatoire musical francais ; 1)
- Research papers in violin acoustics, 1975-1993 : with an introductory essay, 350 years of violin researcheditor, Carleen Maley Hutchins ; associate editor, Virginia Benade. Woodbury, NY : Published by the Acoustical Society of America through the American Institute of Physics, c1997. UniM Music 787.21901534 RESE
- A selective list of masters theses in musicologycompiled for the American Musicological Society by Dominique-René de Lerma. Bloomington, Ind., Denia Press, 1970.
UniM Music REF 016.78 DELE - Theses and dissertations on Black American musicMeadows, Eddie S. Beverly Hills, Calif. : T. Front Musical Literature, 1980. (Front music publications no. 1)
- Thèses de doctorat en langue française relatives à la musique : bibliographie commentée = French language dissertations in music : an annotated bibliographycollected and annotated by Jean Gribenski. New York : Pendragon Press, c1979. (RILM retrospectives; no. 2)
- Verzeichnis deutschsprachiger musikwissenschaftlicher DissertationenIn two volumes, 1861-1960 and 1961-1970
Richard Schaa. Kassel : Bärenreiter, 1963, 1974. UniM Music REF 016.78 SCHA and UniM Store 016.78 SCHA MF4