Skip to main content

Musicology

Guide for students studying Musicology at the University of Melbourne.

Journals and Databases

Finding Journals and Articles

Journals are continuous publications issued regularly (daily, weekly, monthly, or quarterly).  Journals are in print, microform and electronic formats. 

Locating journal titles

You can use the Library Catalogue  to locate journal titles held in the University of Melbourne collections. Many more are available online to students and staff, through Discovery and the A-Z ejournals and databases link 

Print journals at the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library are arranged alphabetically by title.

Finding articles

To identify and locate individual journal articles and a number of other types of publication, you need to use indexing and abstracting services. Many are provided by online databases but some retrospective listings are print.

Discovery is the flagship entry point to many of the University of Melbourne's online databases. It allows cross-searching and offers easy access to citations, abstracts, and fulltext, as well as features like automatic updates.

Individual scholarly databases can be accessed separately through the A-Z ejournals and databases link on the Library homepage, to make use of their specialised interfaces and unique subject indexes.  

Full text journals in RIPM

Listed by year. To find a specific title, use CTRL-F and enter the title.

1759 Kritische Briefe über die Tonkunst (Berlin, 1759-1763) German
1766 Wöchentliche Nachrichten und Anmerkungen die Musik betreffend (Leipzig, 1766-1770) German
1791 Musikalisches Wochenblatt / Musikalische Monatsschrift (Berlin, 1791-1792)
+Studien für Tonkünstler und Musikfreunde (1791-1792)
+Musikalische Monatschrift (1792) German

1793 Berlinische musikalische Zeitung. Historischen und kritischen Inhalts (Berlin, 1793-1794) German
1798 Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung (Leipzig, 1798-1848) German
1805 Berlinische Musikalische Zeitung (Berlin, 1805-1806) German
1809 The New Musical Magazine, Review, and Register (London, 1809-1810) English UK
1813 Wiener allgemeine Musikzeitung (Vienna, 1813) German
1817 Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung, mit besonderer Rücksicht auf den österreichischen Kaiserstaat (Vienna, 1817-1824) German
1818 Amphion. Een Tijdschrift voor vrienden en beoefenaars der Toonkunst (Groningen, 1818-1822) Dutch
1818 The Quarterly Musical Magazine and Review (London, 1818-1828) English UK
1819 The English Musical Gazette; or, Monthly Intelligencer (London, 1819) English UK
1820 The Euterpeiad, or Musical Intelligencer (Boston, 1820-1823)
+The Euterpeiad, or Musical Intelligencer & Ladies Gazette (1821-1822) English US

1823 The Harmonicon (London, 1823-1833) English UK
1824 Berliner allgemeine musikalische Zeitung (Berlin, 1824-1830) German
1824 Cäcilia, eine Zeitschrift für die musikalische Welt, herausgegeben von einem Vereine von Gelehrten, Kunstverständigen und Künstlern (Mainz, 1824-1848) German
1827 I Teatri (Milan, 1827-1831) Italian
1827 Revue musicale (Paris, 1827-1835) French
1829 Eutonia (Breslau/Berlin, 1829-1833, 1835, 1837) German
1829 Il Censore universale dei teatri (Milan, 1829-1838) Italian
1832 Il Barbiere di Siviglia (Milan, 1832-1834) Italian
1833 Berliner musikalische Zeitung (Berlin, 1833) German
1833 Le Ménestrel (Paris, 1833-1940) French
1833 Le Pianiste (Meudon and Vaugirard, 1833-1835) French
1834 American Musical Journal (New York, 1834-1835) English US
1834 Gazette musicale de Paris (Paris, 1834-1835) French
1834 Neue Zeitschrift für Musik (Leipzig, 1834-1844)
+Neue Leipziger Zeitschift für Musik (1834) German

1835 Il Figaro (Milan, 1835-1848) Italian
1835 Pamietnik Muzyczny Warszawski (Warsaw, 1835-1836) Polish
1835 Revue et Gazette musicale de Paris (Paris, 1835-1880) French
1835 The Musical Magazine (New York, 1835-1837) English US
1836 The Musical World (London, 1836-1891)
+The Musical World and Dramatic Observer (1890-1891) English UK

1838 Boston Musical Gazette (Boston, 1838-1839) English US
1838 Le Novateur: Echo des arts (Antwerp, 1838-1839) French
1838 Strenna Teatrale Europea (Milan, 1838-1848) Italian
1838 The Musical Review and Record of Musical Science, Literature, and Intelligence (New York, 1838-1839) English US
1839 Il Corriere dei teatri (Milan, 1839-1840) Italian
1839 Nederlandsch Muzikaal Tijdschrift (Utrecht, 1839-1848) Dutch
1839 The Musical Magazine (New York, 1839-1842) English US
1840 The Musical Journal (London, 1840) English UK
1841 Allgemeine Wiener Musik-Zeitung (Vienna, 1841-1848)
+Wiener allgemeine Musik-Zeitung (1845-1848) German

1841 Musical Reporter (Boston, 1841) English US
1842 Gazzetta musicale di Milano (Milan, 1842-1862, 1866-1902) Italian
1842 La Iberia Musical (Madrid, 1842) Spanish ES
1842 The Musical Examiner (London, 1842-1844) English UK
1843 El Anfión Matritense (Madrid, 1843) Spanish ES
1843 Stockholms musik-tidning (Stockholm, 1843-1844) Swedish
1844 Caecilia. Algemeen Muzikaal Tijdschrift van Nederland (Utrecht, Rotterdam, The Hague, 1844-1880) Dutch
1845 Boston Musical Review (Boston, 1845) English US
1847 L’Italia musicale (Milan, 1847-1859)
+L'Italia libera (1848) Italian

1847 Neue Berliner Musikzeitung (Berlin, 1847-1896) German
1849 La Musique: Gazette de la France musicale (Paris, 1849-1850) French
1849 Saroni's Musical Times (New York, 1849-1852)
+The Musical Times (1851-1852) English US

1849 The Message Bird (New York, 1849-1852)
+Journal of the Fine Arts (1851-1852)
+The Musical World (1852) English US

1850 Le Diapason. Revue musicale de Bruxelles (Brussels, 1850-1852) French
1850 The Choral Advocate and Singing Class Journal (New York, 1850-1851) English US
1852 Dwight’s Journal of Music (Boston, 1852-1881) English US
1852 The Musical Review and Choral Advocate (New York, 1852-1853) English US
1853 Gazzetta musicale di Firenze (Florence, 1853-1855) Italian
1853 Niederrheinische Musik-Zeitung (Cologne, 1853-1867) German
1853 Ny tidning för musik (Stockholm, 1853-1857) Swedish
1854 La Hollande musicale (The Hague, 1854-1855, 1866-1867) French
1854 New York Musical Review and Choral Advocate (New York, 1854) English US
1855 Fliegende Blätter für Musik (Leipzig, 1855-1857) German
1855 La Musica (Naples, 1855) Italian
1855 Le Guide musical (Brussels, 1855-1918) French
1855 Monatschrift für Theater und Musik (Vienna, 1855-1865)
+Recensionen und Mittheilungen über Theater und Musik (1859-1865) German

1855 The New York Musical Review and Gazette (New York, 1855-1860) English US
1856 La Zarzuela (Madrid, 1856-1857) Spanish ES
1856 L’Armonia (Florence, 1856-1859) Italian
1857 La España Artística (Madrid, 1857-1858) Spanish ES
1857 La Musica (Naples, 1857-1859) Italian
1857 Ruch Muzyczny (Warsaw, 1857-1862)
+Pamietnik Muzyczny i Teatralny (1862) Polish

1857 Tidsskrift for Musik (Copenhagen, 1857-1859) Danish

1860 Deutsche Musik-Zeitung (Vienna, 1860-1862) German
1860 The Musical Review and Musical World (New York, 1860-1864) English US
1860 Zenészeti Lapok (Budapest, 1860-1876) Hungarian
 

1861 La Gaceta Musical Barcelonesa (Barcelona, 1861-1865) Spanish ES
1862 Boccherini (Florence, 1862-1882) Italian
1863 Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung (Leipzig, 1863-1882)
+Leipziger allgemeine musikalische Zeitung (1866-1867) German1863 Les Beaux-arts (Montreal, 1863-1864) French
1863 Schlesische Theater-Zeitung (Breslau, 1863-1864)
+Breslauer Theater-Zeitung (1864) German

1865 Gazeta Muzyczna i Teatralna (Warsaw, 1865-1866) Polish
1867 Revista y Gaceta Musical (Madrid, 1867-1868) Spanish ES
1871 Nordisk Tidsskrift for Musik (Copenhagen, 1871-1873) Danish
1871 The Metronome (Boston, 1871-1874) English US
1872 Muzykal’ny listok (St. Petersburg, 1872-1877) Russian

1873 A Arte Musical (Lisbon, 1873-1875; 1890-1891) Portuguese
1873 La Chronique musicale (Paris, 1873-1876) French
1875 Gazeta dos Theatros (Lisbon, 1875-1876) Portuguese
1875 La Opera Española (Madrid, 1875-1876) Spanish ES
1876 La Musica (Naples, 1876-1878; 1883-1885) Italian
1878 Bayreuther Blätter (Bayreuth, 1878-1914 [-1939]) German
1878 Nuvellist: Muzïkal’no-teatral’naya gazeta (St. Petersburg, 1878-1905) Russian
1879 Dalibor. Hudební Listy (Prague, 1879-1923 [-1927]) Czech
1879 Echo Muzyczne (Warsaw, 1879-1882) Polish
1879 Monatshefte für Musikgeschichte (Berlin, 1879-1905) German
1879 The Musical Review (New York, 1879-1881) English US
1880 Il Teatro illustrato (Milan, 1880-1892)
+Il Teatro illustrato e la Musica popolare (1886-1892) Italian

1880 Musik-Welt (Berlin, 1880-1882) German
1880 Nordisk musik-tidende (Christiania [Oslo], 1880-1892) Norwegian
1880 Svensk musiktidning (Stockholm, 1880-1913)
+Necken: svensk musiktidning (1880) Swedish

1880 Te Arion (Toronto, 1880-1881) English CAN
1881 La Renaissance musicale (Paris, 1881-1883) French
1881 Musikalisches Centralblatt (Leipzig, 1881-1884) German
1882 Archivio Musicale (Naples, 1882-1884) Italian
1882 La Musica popolare (Milan, 1882-1885) Italian
1882 Zenészeti Közlöny (Budapest, 1882) Hungarian
1883 Echo muzyczne, teatralne i artystyczne (Warsaw, 1883-1907) Polish
1884 Musikbladet (Copenhagen, 1884-1895) Danish
1885 Kastner's Wiener Musikalische Zeitung (Vienna, 1885-1888)
+Musikalische Chronik (1887-1888) German

1885 Muzïkal’noye obozrenie: Muzïkal’naya gazeta (St. Petersburg, 1885-1888) Russian
1885 The Quarterly Musical Review (Manchester, 1885-1888) English UK
1885 Zenelap (Budapest, 1885-1912) Hungarian
1886 Gudalo [??????] (Kikinda, 1886-1887) Serbian
1887 L’Indépendance musicale et dramatique (Paris, 1887-1888) French
1887 Paganini (Genoa, 1887-1891) Italian
1888 Bayan [?????] (St. Petersburg, 1888-1890) Russian
1890 Zenevilág (Budapest, 1890-1891) Hungarian
1892 Gusle (Zagreb, 1892) Ctian
1892 Orkestertidende (Christiania [Oslo], 1892-1894) Norwegian
1893 Glazba (Zagreb, 1893) Ctian
1894 Skandinaviske Signaler (Copenhagen, 1894-1895) Danish
1894 Weekblad voor Muziek (Amsterdam, 1894-1909) Dutch
1898 La Música Ilustrada Hispano-Americana (Barcelona, 1898-1902)
+La Música Ilustrada (1898-1900) Spanish ES

1898 Musical America (New York, 1898-1899, 1905-1922 [-1964]) English US
1899 The Chord: A Quarterly Devoted to Music (London, 1899-1900) English UK
1899 Zeitschrift der Internationalen Musik-Gesellschaft (Leipzig, 1899-1914) German
1901 La Revue musicale (Paris, 1901-1912)
+La Revue d'histoire et de critique musicales (1901-1902) French

1901 The Musical World (Boston, 1901-1904) English US
1902 Musica (Paris, 1902-1914) French
1902 The Negro Music Journal (Washington, D.C., 1902-1903) English US
1903 Caecilia. Maanblad voor muziek (Amsterdam, 1903-1917) Dutch
1904 Revista Musical Catalana (Barcelona, 1904-1923 [-1936]) Catalan
1906 Ars et labor: Musica e musicisti (Milan, 1906-1912) Italian
1906 The Violin (Toronto, 1906-1907) English CAN
1907 Musical Canada (Toronto, 1907-1932) English CAN
1908 Hudební Revue (Prague, 1908-1919) Czech
1909 La Revista musical (Bilbao, 1909-1910) Spanish ES
1909 The Musical Antiquary (Oxford, 1909-1913) English UK
1911 L'Année musicale (Paris, 1911-1913) French
1912 Harvard Musical Review (Cambridge, 1912-1916) English US
1912 Revue française de musique (Lyon, 1912-1914) French
1913 Harmonia. Rivista italiana di musica (Rome, 1913-1914) Italian
1913 Het Muziekcollege (Haarlem, 1913-1917) Dutch
1914 Christensen’s Ragtime Review (Chicago, 1914-1918)
+Ragtime Review (1917-1918) English US

1914 The Canadian Journal of Music (Toronto, 1914-1919) English CAN
1915 Khronika zhurnala "Muzykal'nyi sovremennik" (St. Petersburg, 1915-1917) Russian
1918 La Critica musicale (Florence, 1918-1923) Italian
1921 Fanfare: A musical causerie (London, 1921-1922) English UK
1921 Musike Epitheoresis (Athens, 1921-1922) Greek
1921 Nea Phorminx (Athens, 1921-1923) Greek
1922 La Cultura musicale (Bologna, 1922-1923) Italian
1922 The Baton (New York, 1922-1932) English US
1923 Pro-Musica Quarterly (New York, 1923-1929)
+The Franco-American Musical Society Bulletin (1923-1925) English US

1923 Revue Pleyel (Paris, 1923-1927) French
1924 Modern Music (New York, 1924-1946)
+The League of Composers Review (1924-1925) English US

1934 Musical Mercury (New York, 1934-1939) English US
1935 Music Vanguard (New York, 1935) English US
1954 The Juilliard Review (New York, 1954-1962) English US

 

  
 
Loading