This is an indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today. Jewish Life in America makes available to scholars some of the American Jewish Historical Society's most important and valuable archival collections.
The Historical Jewish Press website includes electronic versions of Jewish newspapers from different historical periods in three languages. All the website's newspapers are black and white, and the website allows the user to search the text of all the published material. Search results are given in the form of articles that mirror the original layout of the newspaper.
American Jewish Newspapers collection enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more. The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
This covers Jewish messenger (1857-1902); American Hebrew (1879-1902); American Hebrew and Jewish Messsenger (1903-1922)
The Jewish Advocate serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life. This collection includes The Boston Advocate (1905-1909) and The Jewish Advocate (1909-1990)
The Jewish Exponent has carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life. Along the way, it has garnered honors each year from the American Jewish Press Association for excellence in Jewish journalism for its news, features, reviews and commentary.
The American Israelite is the longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity. This collection includes The Israelite (1854-1874) and The American Israelite (1874-2000)