Skip to main content

Children's Literature

This guide has been created to assist students studying Children's Literature

Australian Children's Book Awards

The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) awards annual prizes in five categories:

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood
  • CBCA Picture Book of the Year
  • The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books 

The Crichton Award for New Illustrators, administered by the Victorian Branch of the CBCA, aims to recognize and encourage new talent in the field of Australian children's book illustration.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards for Children's Fiction and Young Adults Fiction.

The YABBA- Young Australian Best Book Award -a children's choice book award.

Link to Shortlists for Australian Awards.

Giblin Eunson Library Children's Book Award Collection

The Giblin Eunson  library  holds a complete set of award winning children's books from Australia, the UK and the US. This collection is located on level 1 of the Giblin Eunson  library  and is only available for use within the library. However, duplicate copies of all titles may be borrowed from the Junior Fiction collection (Giblin Eunson  J) and the Picture Book collection (Giblin Eunson  Z) located on Level 1.