Skip to main content

The Barry Tuckwell Collection

A finding aid to the scores, recordings, correspondence and other materials of the Barry Tuckwell Collection

Concert Programs & Publicity

The Barry Tuckwell Collection contains a substantial quantity of promotional material. These include both studio photographs (for publicity purposes) and informal photographs of Tuckwell and other musicians taken at rehearsals and concerts.

The Collection also includes more than 50 concert posters for concerts and master-classes all over the world in which Barry Tuckwell took part. Other promotional items include brochures, magazines and pamphlets containing information about Tuckwell

Press clippings relating to Barry Tuckwell also form a major part of the Collection: most are loose, are clearly dated and labelled and have been organized chronologically. There are also 14 volumes (mostly loose-leaf folders) of clippings covering the years 1960 to 1997 and a chronological list, compiled by Barry Tuckwell (draft copy), of performances he has taken part in.

About the concert programs

The concert programs in the Collection number around 4000 and span Barry Tuckwell’s career from the mid 1940s until 2008, with the majority from the 1970s and 1980s. These programs embrace both the full scope of Tuckwell’s international solo career and those performing groups of which he was a part, particularly the London Symphony Orchestra, the Tuckwell Wind Quintet, the Tuckwell–Maureen Jones–Brenton Langbein trio and the Maryland Symphony Orchestra. 

Viewing concert programs 

The concert programs are arranged in boxes by year. Within each year the programs have been grouped by ensemble, with the number of programs for each ensemble placed in brackets after the ensemble's name. For example, in 1945 there were two programs for the Royal Philharmonic Society of Sydney e.g. Royal Philharmonic Society of Sydney (2).

Items can be found by either browsing the concert program list or by hitting CTRL + F and then typing in the name of the ensemble you wish to search for. Once programs have been located view the catalogue record to request a box number simply make a note of the box number(s) from the left column and contact staff at the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library to view them.

Loading