No longer studying? No problem. The Free online resources for teachers guide can help you get started. It is intended as a resource to beginning and practicing teachers, and to showcase the many freely available teacher resources on the web.
A US based resource that supports teaching with technology. It has a range of tools for teachers, such as Rubistar (which allows you to create customised rubrics for assessment). Additionally, there are teacher resources on different topics (e.g. assessment using portfolios).
Asia Link aims to promote public understanding of the countries of Asia and of Australia’s role in the region. This site is a comprehensive teacher and student resource, including curriculum resources and lesson plans.
Australian Policy Online gives access to Australian social, economic, cultural and political research. As well as research, the site features opinion and commentary pieces, video, audio and web resources focused on the policy issues facing Australia.
This is a UK-based, free, online resource library which provides access to a growing range of multimedia eLearning resources. Resources are categorised by subject area, such as English, Mathematics and Performing Arts.
The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. It targets teachers, librarians and anyone helping a child-reader.
An internet “meeting place for ESL + EFL teachers + students from around the World!”. This internationally compiled resource which has many great features for teachers, such as the “Idea cookbook” with lesson ideas, classroom management strategies and more.
This website is a teacher-space developed by the DEECD, and features the latest online resources in Education. There are teacher resources, as well as dedicated Early Childhood, Primary and Secondary online learning resources for students.
The Internet Archive offers permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996 and based in San Francisco, the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in its collections.
his page from the State Library of Victoria supports the The teaching and learning of history from years 7 to 12. It has a range of resources, including activities and worksheets, as well as dedicated resource kits (units). Students can also delve into the ‘Explore history' section, which tells the stories of Victoria's social, political and cultural development with original documents and images that they can use in assignments.
This site is dedicated to promoting sun protection to kids and teens. It is a resource for teachers and schools with links and information from around the world. Education is our first defense against skin cancer
This page provides links and information for curriculum/subject specific specialisations, particularly focused on professional development, resources and tools available to support teaching. The specialist areas include: The Arts, English, Geography, History, Mathematics, Science, LOTE, ESL, Drug Education and other programs.
The Math Forum is a leading center for mathematics and mathematics education on the Internet. Operating under Drexel's Goodwin College of Professional Studies, its mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.
The Transitions in Early Childhood website was created in 2001 following the EECERA Conference in London, August 2000. It serves as a directory of research about the different transitions children face in their early years of development, including the transition from pre-school to the first year of schooling.
This Science & Nature site on the Human Body, from the BBC helps students understand the human body better by building a skeleton, stretching some muscles and organising the organs in an interactive body.
This web page provides information and images of Victorian insects, as illustrated and described in the National Museum of Victoria’s Prodromus of the Zoology of Victoria, published between 1878-1890. Three of the species described here were new to science. Explore beautiful illustrations of moths, locusts, phasmids, butterflies and katydids.
This website provides online chemistry revision for students. Although this site centres around UK science courses, the study notes and revision quizzes should prove useful for chemistry revision of any science course taken by 11-18 year old school students.
A study site targeted at English as a Second Language students with computer assisted language learning activities.There are over 1,000 quizzes, exercises and puzzles covering grammar, vocabulary, crosswords and bilingual quizzes.
Geography and environment, brought to you by a national team of subject specialists from universities across the UK. They find and review the very best web resources to help with studies and research in Geography.
NASA Quest Challenges are FREE Web-based, interactive explorations designed to engage students in authentic scientific and engineering processes. The solutions relate to issues encountered daily by NASA personnel.
A variety of geography lesson plans and activities for students are available from this National Geographic website. Highlights include the My Wonderful World campaign site for children and teens, which provides ideas for ways students can get active and care about the world.
This is a beta version of a website designed for collaborative storytelling. Targeting parents & friends, teachers & librarians, and narrative artists, this site is a tool to create short, visual stories called ‘storybirds’ to share (soon to print).
he Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable This database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 24.000 reproductions. Picture commentaries, artist biographies are available. Guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and other services are provided.
Targeting school-leavers heading north for ‘schoolies’ (between mid-November and mid-December each year), this site has been developed by the Victorian Government to ensure young people can be as safe as possible. It contains information for young people on how to plan for schoolies, celebrate safely and responsibly, know their rights, and party in a way that keeps the locals happy.