Skip to main content

eBooks: Searching for eBooks

Finding and accessing eBooks available through University of Melbourne subscriptions and online.

eBooks via the Library catalogue

When you use the catalogue, eBooks will come up in the results of an ordinary search, but the method below limits your search to eBooks.

   1. Go to the Library Homepage.

   2. Select the catalogue.

   3. Enter your search term and select Online Books from the drop down menu, then Submit.

   4. Then review the results.

   5. In your results, click on the Connect to ebook (University of Melbourne only) link to access the ebook online.

eBooks via A-Z Databases

You can search for eBooks in A-Z Databases.

1.   Log into A-Z Databases from the Library homepage.

2.   Type ebooks in the Database search box

3. Browse the list of results in the catalogue

eBooks via Subject Research Guides

Some specific Subject Research Guides also highlight various eBook packages and titles.

You can:

eBooks via Discovery

When you use Discovery, eBooks will come up in the results.  Here is one way you can limit your search results to ebooks in Discovery.

1. Do a search using Discovery

  • Go to the library homepage.
  • Type your search terms in the Discovery search box at the top of the page and click the Search button.
  • Login using your unimelb username and password (if you are prompted to do so).


2. Refine your results to ebooks

  • In the Refine your results section to the left, tick the Full Text checkbox and click the Update button.
  • In the Source Types section, tick the checkboxes: Books and eBooks and click the Update button.
  • Then any ebooks that match your search query will be listed in the search results.

3. Read or download ebooks

To access the full-text of an e-book will need to click the link below the search result, such as a:

  • PDF Full TextHTML Full Text, or View this record from... link
  • Source it @ Melbourne link
  • eBook Full Text or Download (Offline) link (for eBooks provided by EBSCOHost).