Skip to main content

Law Rare Books Collection

This is a Law Rare Books Collection guide. It outlines some of the material in the collection.

Electronic Databases That Cover Legal History Materials

The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926 - Commentary service. Combines foreign, comparative, and international titles into a single resource. The International Law component features works of some of the great legal theorists while the Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises of a variety of countries. The Comparative Law component features online books that compare more than one legal system and includes Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law.

 The Making of Modern Law Legal Treatises 1800-1926 - collection of more than 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law. 

The Making of Modern Legal Trials 1600-1926 - collection of more than 7000 publications describing UK and US trials – from notorious, scandalous and sensational courtroom dramas to cases of great constitutional, historical and  precedent-setting value, such as the Dred Scott case, the Scopes “Monkey” Trial and the Amistad Slavery case.

Both of the above databases contain fully searchable digital images of exact replicas of the original books.
 
Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law - various publications on the history of early English law
 
Legal Classics - Includes more than 3,000 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more! In addition to many "classics" this collection also includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world.
Early English Books Online- contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.