Skip to main content

Law Rare Books Collection

This is a Law Rare Books Collection guide. It outlines some of the material in the collection.

Useful Links

The Melbourne Law School Rare Book and Legal History Lecture Series

Caitlin Stone, 'The Legal Resource Centre Rare Book Collection' (2004) 12 Australian Law Librarian 9 

Michael Bryan, 'Early English Law Reporting' (2009) 4 University of Melbourne Collections 45

Michael Bryan, “The Modern History of Law Reporting” (2012) 11 University of Melbourne Collections 2012

Ruth Bird, 'The Law Library' (1997) 3 The University of Melbourne Library Journal 25

The law collection at the University of Melbourne Archives

The Finemore Collection - The Finemore Collection consists of a set of records relating to
the activities of the Australian Constitutional Convention (ACC) which
met from 1973-1985. The collection includes working papers, reports,
correspondence, press clippings, photographs, meeting minutes and other
documents. It was compiled by John Finemore, former Chief Executive
Officer of the Australian Constitutional Convention. Some related
records are held by the National Archives of Australia .

University of Melbourne. Legal Resource Centre, Treason, Tichborne and Tait : trials from the Legal Resource Centre and the University of Melbourne Archives, curators, Susan Gillberg and Caitlin Stone Legal Resource Centre, University of Melbourne (2005).

Heather McRae and Anne Mullins, Australian Constitutional Convention 1973-1985 : a guide to the archives (Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies, University of Melbourne, 1998).

University of Melbourne Legal History Research Guide