Market Research
Databases for Market Research
- Mintel Market SizesGlobal consumer data. Includes market size, segmentation and market share (historical and forecast data).
- Mintel Global New Products DatabaseCovers innovations and performance of new consumer packaged goods worldwide.
- Mintel AcademicConsumer industry and consumer lifestyle reports for the UK and the US, industrial reports for the UK, and global travel and tourism industry reports.
- PassportProfiles of leading public and private companies from the consumer goods and services sector.
- Australian Business to BusinessSearch Australian companies by product categories, product codes or product keywords.
NOTE: only one user license at a time. - WARCMarketing database includes case studies, best practice guides, marketing intelligence, consumer insight, industry trends and news.
NOTE: this resource can only be accessed on campus. - Business Source CompleteLarge business database which includes journals, trade publications, reports and case studies across all business disciplines.
- Gartner Core ResearchResearch conducted by IT industry analysts. Covers asset management, web services, emerging trends and technologies, and regulatory compliance
- Cortellis Competitive IntelligenceInformation on drug pipelines, deals, companies, patents, global conferences and industry news.
NOTE: Once you login in via the Library catalogue, you must register using a valid University of Melbourne email address.
Market and brand research websites
- A. C. Nielsen (Australia)Leading market research company. Free reports are available from their website.
- Ernst & YoungConsultancy company that produces market research reports. Some reports are available for free on their website.
- InterbrandBrand consultancy company. 'Best Global Brands' lists are published on their website.
- BrandzBrand consultancy company. 'Top Global Brands' lists are available on their website.
- The American Customer Satisfaction IndexProvides customer satisfaction scores for more than 225 companies. Has links to national customer satisfaction indexes for a number of other countries.
- The UK National Customer Satisfaction IndexNSCI-UK measures satisfaction with top companies in 16 industries.
- BrandchannelA website about branding offering a global perspective on brands. Produced by brand consultancy Interbrand, but maintains editorial independence.
- Food and Brand LabBased at Cornell University, Food and Brand Lab is an interdisciplinary group of graduate and undergraduate students. It conducts research on how consumers relate to foods and packaged foods.
Books on Market Research
Marketing research / William G. Zikmund ... [et al.]. by Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson 658.83 MARKISBN: 9780170183345
A concise guide to market research : the process, data, and methods using IBM SPSS statistics by Call Number: UniM Giblin Eunson 658.83 MOOIISBN: 3642125409
Surveys and Polls
- PassportAggregates data and analysis from consumer surveys worldwide, involving thousands of individual consumers in emerging and developed markets
- VaultA searchable archive of surveys and polls conducted by The Harris Poll from 1970 - present.
Surveys cover a wide range of topics including politics, economy, business, education, international affairs and culture.
Faculty Research Database
Specialist research databases, including:
- Bloomberg
- Datastream
- WRDS Data Services
For: Research students and staff of the Faculty of Business and Economics.
Location: Research Data Laboratory, Upper Ground, Giblin Eunson library.