Map Resources of Victoria

A guide to aerial photography resources for Melbourne and Victoria.

University of Melbourne Library guide to resources

A librarian who specialises in your subject area will arrange an appointment to help you with your research.

The Library Map Collection holds rare maps and geospatial data available to the research and education community. Access to hardcopy maps via the Baillieu Library Reading Room.

On the platform formally known as Twitter

Maps for Property, Forest, Public Land, topography with searching for address, place name, locality or local government. Design, export (PDF) and print A4 & A3.

Create your own zoning planning map from the many layers. Print to PDF and save the file. Includes historical zoning, environmental layers such as flood mapping and significance.

Biodiversity Interactive Map (BIM) is used to display and produce maps of Victoria's biodiversity, native vegetation, flora and fauna data.

Follow the links to the sections of our website that cover the different sectors of the environment.

The Atlas captures a whole range of mapped data. It is an online repository of spatial data about the Yarra River.

Tree data for Australia and other countries visualised. Data available from City and Shire councils

Biodiversity Interactive Map (BIM) is used to display and produce maps of Victoria's biodiversity, native vegetation, flora and fauna data.

Modelled 2005 Ecological Vegetation Classes (with Bioregional Conservation Status)

This dataset is a definitive view of native vegetation extent and condition across Melbourne’s VC68 urban growth areas

The Atlas of Living Australia is a collaborative, national project that aggregates biodiversity data from multiple sources

LCC investigations and reviews (1971 to 1997), the full texts of the final recommendations reports are available from this site.

GIS dataset of the existing open space network throughout the Melbourne metropolitan area.

Spatial layers modelling the extent of land subject to coastal inundation due to projected sea level rise.

These packages contain digital versions of almost 47 years of geological exploration data.

Free- downloadable raster versions all geological sheet maps ever produced of Victoria. 1:50:000 - 1:250,000 scale

This includes but historical geological surveys, geological reports, gold field mapping, regolith, geophysical, hydro geological maps and other materials.

Researchers from across Australia have joined together to develop detailed digital maps of the country’s soil and landscape attributes.

A spatial map layer of soil type (Australian Soil Classification) for Victoria. The harmonised map consists of 3,300 land units (totaling about 225,000 polygons) derived from around 100 soil and land surveys carried out in Victoria over the past 70 years.

Mapping API that enables you to build your own earth resource related maps, perform searches and access data, using a huge range of data sources.

A wide range of geological maps, reports and data.

This open-access network of geospatial data, and its supporting infrastructure – the Spatial Information Services Stack (SISS) – will enable users to explore Australia's geology on a national scale

Victoria has a rich supply of earth resources. The Geological Survey of Victoria (GSV) produces a wide range of geological maps, reports and data.

Latest Weather Observations for the Melbourne Area

Latest Weather Observations

Bureau weather stations differ in the types and amount of data available. The links below provide information ranging from specific details about an individual station, to lists of stations with similar characteristics

The National Meteorological Library holds a specialised collection of books, reports and journals related to meteorological and related sciences.

The Australian Bureau of Meteorology. High resolution maps and data, ranging from the most recent day, back to 1900 for rainfall and 1910 for temperature.

Explore the variability of the Australian climate. Rainfall, Temperature, Wind, Humidity, Evaporation, Sunshine, radiation & cloud, Cyclones & thunderstorms.

Observations and information about our changing climate.

The GDE Atlas was developed as a national dataset to inform groundwater planning and management. The only national inventory of GDEs in Australia

This website provides historical climate information and trends from individual observation sites across the Pacific region and East Timor.

Climate Data Online provides access to a range of statistics, historical weather observations, climatology maps, and other Australian climate data.

Digitalised historical items from the University of Melbourne - Library Map Collection

The records we hold about individual blocks of land mostly relate to their ownership over time. We also hold records about land transactions between private individuals and companies.

1 million maps, from early European charts to current mapping of Australia, in print and digital form online .

From the State Library of Victoria

Historical editions of the Melway Street Directory from 1st edition 1966 until 1999 have been digitalised and made available under direct license from Melway Publishing Pty Ltd

Digitalised images (jpg) of the original Melbourne 1945 aerial photomaps in the Map Collection of the University of Melbourne Library

Find out about how our cultural heritage places and objects are protected.

This is a website containing the history of all the places in Victoria (Australia) that have now or once had a population over 200 at any time since the establishment of Victoria as a British colony.

Vicmap Planning History is the map data representing the land use zone and overlay controls for all Victorian planning schemes.

Souces and thinking when researching the history of places and building in Victoria

Maps detail all structures and physical land detail. Devised for putting the water supply pipes down for Melbourne. Scale 1":160 [1:1,920].
Additional the State Library of Victoria has digitised many of the 1":40'.

Shows streets, railway lines and property boundaries. Some sheets also show contours.

Begun in 1977 in three scales, this series includes property boundaries, foot-printed large public buildings and chiefly detailed 1 meter contours for the whole of the city.

Sands & McDougall Directory maps are useful for looking at the broad early settlement and development of Melbourne.

Shows streets, buildings. Lists building occupiers, building materials, fire protection facilities.
Amendments pasted onto maps.

These MMBW plans were use for the design and development of Melbourne's sewerage and drainage system.

From the State Library of Victoria

Historical editions of the Melway Street Directory from 1st edition 1966 until 1999 have been digitalised and made available under direct license from Melway Publishing Pty Ltd

Shows property boundaries, building footprints and other build details

A guide to researching the history of Victoria's foundation and early settlement based on published and digitised sources.

This guide focuses on using the SLV maps collection, and on researching Victorian family history, including immigration to Victoria.

A guide to using maps to aid your Victorian local history research.

A community organisation committed to collecting, researching and sharing an understanding of the history of Victoria.

List maintained by Royal Historical Society of Victoria

Digitalised images (jpg) of the original Melbourne 1945 aerial photomaps in the Map Collection of the University of Melbourne Library

Victorian Public Records Office collection of maps for Victoria 1836-1984 kept by the Department of Crown Lands and Survey.

University of Melbourne Archives. [1961.0017] Records of Mahlstedts Vic. Pty Ltd

The Historic Plan Collection comprises:

(a) preliminary maps for surveys which enabled the three tier cadastral system to be developed (the three tier cadastral system comprises parish, township and county plans)
(b) ancillary plans produced to complement this system
(c) plans produced as a by-product of contemporary systems.

The kinds of historical information often found on these "historical" plans include:

early descriptions of soils and native vegetation
location of huts, fences, gardens and other capital improvements made by squatters
location of other buildings
tracks used by original settlers
reserves set aside for public use
early place names
location of pastoral runs
ship wrecks
the general progress of European settlement at various times progress of cadastral, geodetic and physiographic surveys at particular times

Create your own zoning planning map from the many layers. Print to PDF and save the file. Includes historical zoning, environmental layers such as flood mapping and significance.

Biodiversity Interactive Map (BIM) is used to display and produce maps of Victoria's biodiversity, native vegetation, flora and fauna data.

From this page you can access all of Victoria's planning schemes provisions and maps. Maps are available by Local Government Areas.

Roads transport planning & projects information and directions. Victoria.

This Program is a major initiative to support the implementation of the State Government's metropolitan strategy, Melbourne 2030.

Victoria Planning Provisions.
Planning schemes are made up of maps and ordinance. The ordinance are the policies and written clauses and the maps depict where the zones and overlays apply.