Key Mental Health Databases
Health Collection (Informit)
Provides Australasian health information with full text access. Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Informit Database
Medline (Ovid)
Contains over 12 million journal article records. MEDLINE covers basic research in the biomedical and the clinical sciences as well as major health-related subjects and disciplines including Psychology and Psychiatry. Records are indexed using MeSH Headings.
PsycINFO (Ovid)
Covers literature published in psychology and related disciplines, including psychiatry, medicine, nursing, social work and pharmacology. Most records contain non-evaluative summaries; all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Coverage international.
Also available on the Ovid platform, Journals@Ovid, PscyARTICLES, PsycBOOKS
Emcare
Emcare is a nursing and allied health database which indexes over 3,700 international journals, with coverage commencing 1995 onwards. The database is integrated with the EMTREE thesaurus and has easy linking to full-text journal content.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is a comprehensive database which covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI.
PubMed
Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the U.S. National Library of Medicine, located at the National Institute of Healthy. PubMed citations and abstracts cover the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and preclinical sciences.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
ISBN: 9780890425541
Books and eBooks
Contemporary Issues in Mental Health Nursing by Call Number: UniM BioMed 616.890231 CONTISBN: 9780470060551Publication Date: 2008
Psychiatric and Mental Health Essentials in Primary Care by Call Number: UniM BioMed 616.890231 HOFFISBN: 9780415780919Publication Date: 2011
Mental Health Care by Call Number: UniM BioMed 362.20994 HUNGISBN: 9781118644805Publication Date: 2015
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing Success by Call Number: UniM INTERNET ResourceISBN: 9780803639324Publication Date: 2013
Law, Values and Practice in Mental Health Nursing by Call Number: UniM INTERNET ResourceISBN: 9780335245017Publication Date: 2013
Emergencies in mental health nursing by Call Number: UniM INTERNET ResourceISBN: 9780191740794Publication Date: 2012
Clinical Guide to Mental Disability Evaluations by Call Number: UniM INTERNET ResourceISBN: 9781461454472Publication Date: 2013
Mental Health Nursing: Dimensions of Praxis by Call Number: UniM INTERNET ResourceISBN: 9780195522242Publication Date: 2014
Consumer and Carer Perspectives
Outside Mental Health
Outside Mental Health by
Outside Mental Health: Voices and Visions of Madness reveals the human side of mental illness. In this remarkable collection of interviews and essays, therapist, Madness Radio host, and schizophrenia survivor Will Hall asks, "What does it mean to be called crazy in a crazy world?" More than 60 voices of psychiatric patients, scientists, journalists, doctors, activists, and artists create a vital new conversation about empowering the human spirit by transforming society. "Bold, fearless, and compellingly readable... a refuge and an oasis from the overblown claims of American psychiatry" - Christopher Lane, author of Shyness: How Normal Behavior Became an Illness "A terrific conversation partner." - Joshua Wolf Shenk, author of Lincoln's Melancholy: How Depression Challenged a President and Fueled His Greatness "Brilliant...wonderfully grand and big-hearted." - Robert Whitaker, author of Anatomy of an Epidemic: Magic Bullets, Psychiatric Drugs, and the Astonishing Rise of Mental Illness in America "Must-read for anyone interested in creating a more just and compassionate world." - Alison Hillman, Open Society Foundation Human Rights Initiative "An intelligent, thought-provoking, and rare concept. These are voices worth listening to." - Mary O'Hara, The Guardian "A new, helpful, liberating-and dare I say, sane-way of re-envisioning our ideas of mental illness." Paul Levy, Director of the Padmasambhava Buddhist Center, Portland, Oregon "A fantastic resource for those who are seeking change." Dr. Pat Bracken MD, psychiatrist and Clinical Director of Mental Health Service, West Cork, Ireland
Call Number: http://outsidementalhealth.comISBN: 9780996514309
Key Resources
Recovered, Not Cured by
This very personal exploration of schizophrenia explores each stage, from the early signs and reactions from friends and family to seeking help and the challenges of recovery. McLean bravely shares his paranoid delusions and offers both a verbal and a visual experience by including digital artwork he created to help objectify and control his impulses and fears. As McLean relates his experiences step by step, issues of sexuality, identity, and drug abuse are discussed, along with the overarching issues relating to mental health and the medical profession. Messages from online posters who either have suffered from mental illness or have cared for the mentally ill are included throughout, adding more perspectives to the author's personal experiences. This powerful combination of words and pictures provides a unique and poignant insight into a hidden, internal world.
Call Number: UniM INTERNET resourceISBN: 9781865089744Publication Date: 2005
Searching for a Rose Garden: Challenging Psychiatry, Fostering Mad Studies by
This edited collection introduces and explores radical alternatives to mainstream psychiatric practices. Crucially, these are not alternatives developed by professionals; they are innovative, survivor-led and survivor-run grassroots approaches. The contributors describe their origins, how they were developed, the challenges they faced, and continue to face, and the politics that inspired and continue to inform them.
Call Number: On OrderISBN: 9781910919231
Recovery : a guide for mental health practitioners by
In this book the author charts the journey of recovery from severe and disabling mental health problems. The book's optimistic tone challenges the prevailing notion that recovery is an outcome open only to a minority. It describes the necessary transformation of mental health services into a recovery culture. At the heart of the book are five recovery stories which are a testament to the indomitable nature of the human spirit that enables us to rise above adversity. It is these themes that mental health professionals must engage with if they are to be guides and companions to people on their recovery journeys. Uses a model of recovery based on the 'hero's journey' Maps a clear pathway to recovery that can be used collaboratively by clients and mental health professionals In-depth exploration of recovery relationships and a recovery culture
Call Number: On OrderISBN: 9780750688802
Social Inclusion and Recovery by
Although it is widely agreed that the experiences of service users have much to offer mental health professionals, the majority of books for this group focus on either conditions or different types of service provision (acute, community). This book is different. It takes as its starting point the lived experience of recovery which is the process whereby individuals can be helped to understand and come to terms with their illness. The role and actions of mental health professionals is explored as part of the process of recovery. The major part of the book will focus on ways in which direct care staff can assist people with mental health problems, reflecting the accounts of the nature and type of assistance which have been valuable, and the ways in which such help can best be offered. It addresses two key components of recovery accessand inclusion to life opportunities and acceptance. Each chapter of the book looks at an aspect of recovery and clearly shows how practitioners must accept the individuals needs and work with them towards this goal Based on users' experiences Focus on recovery as both a personal journey and goal and the basis for care and interventions Addresses key issues - access and social inclusion Practical guidance in implementing a new model of mental health practice.
Call Number: On OrderISBN: 9780702026010
