Skip to main content

Indigenous Legal Research

Finding Journal Articles on Maori Law

Articles on Maori law and legal issues will be written in many journals. For information on finding relevant journal articles, see the Journals page of our New Zealand Legal Research Guide.

The following indigenous journal databases are Australian, but include many articles on Maori law:

LAW DATABASES

AGIS-ATSIS (UniMelb staff & student access) - this is Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset of the legal journals database on the INFORMIT platform. It includes indexed articles from 1975 to current, and full text articles from 1999 to current.  Over 120 Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals are indexed, as well as selected articles from major law journals from the USA, Canada and the UK. The majority of records contained in the subset deal with legal issues such as land rights, native title, customary law,  Indigenous people in the criminal justice system, racial discrimination, indigenous intellectual property, and reconciliation.

CINCH-ATSIS (UniMelb staff & student access) - this is Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Subset of the criminology and criminal justice journals database on the INFORMIT platform. CINCH indexes and abstracts articles on all aspects of crime and criminal justice. CINCH-ATSIS includes information on the involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and Maori in the justice system.

MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES

Indigenous Collection (UniMelb staff & student access) on the INFORMIT platform. This collection covers many subject areas, including law and land rights. The database includes full text articles from 1977 to current.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander combined Informit Indexes (UniMelb staff & student access). This combined index searches the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subsets of 12 databases - including criminolgy and criminal justice (CINCH-ATSIS), law (AGIS-ATSIS), health, education, politics and public affairs, family and society.

Individual Journal Titles

The Maori Law Review (UniMelb staff & student access) includes articles, case notes and recent developments in New Zealand law affecting Maori.

The Yearbook of New Zealand Jurisprudence (open access) includes many articles and special issues on Maori and the law. The latest issue is 2010/11. 

For a list of other New Zealand journals to which we subscribe, and which will include articles on Maori law, see the Journals page of our New Zealand Legal Research Guide.

Recent Open Access Articles & Book Chapters on SSRN

Charters, Claire, 'Use It or Lose It: The Value of Using the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in Maori Political and Legal Claims' in Andrew Eruit, International Indigenous Rights in Aotearoa New Zealand (Victoria University Press, 2017). 

Corbett, Susan, 'Governance Systems for Access to and Use of Indigenous Knowledge and Culture: A New Zealand Perspective' (March 7, 2017).

Iorns Magallanes, Catherine J, 'Access to Environmental Justice for Maori' in 2017 Yearbook of New Zealand Jurisprudence, Special Issue on Access to Justice for Maori 141-181