Skip to main content

Southeast Asian Legal Research Guide: Books & Journals

Recent Books on Malaysian Law

Individual Malaysian Law Journal Titles

The Malayan Law Journal contains both law reports and scholarly articles. It is an important source of scholarship on Malaysian law. It is available:

  • In print: on Level 4 of the Law Library 1932 - 2014
  • Online on Lexis Advance Pacific (UniMelb staff & student access): Malayan Law Journal Articles 1992 - current.

Shariah Law Reports Articles (online on Lexis Advance Pacific (UniMelb staff & student access) 2004 to current.

Note: the articles in these journals are not indexed in the major legal indexing databases such as Index to Legal Periodicals. So to search comprehensively for journal articles on Malaysian law, we advise you to search these journals in addition to using the databases recommended in the box below.  

Finding Journal Articles on Malaysian Law

To search for journal articles on Malaysian law, irrespective of the journal in which the articles appear, see the Finding Journal Articles on South East Asian Law box on the Books & Journals page under the Regional Resources tab in this Guide. The databases listed in this box allow you to search hundreds of journals at the same time.

In addition, the CLJ Law database (UniMelb staff & student access) includes an up to date full text Journal Article Index, comprising articles from 1981 to current written in Malaysian Current Law Journal publications and the Legal Network Series. This database can be browsed or searched.

Recent Open Access Articles & Book Chapters on SSRN

Naz, Safia and M Ehteshamul Bari, 'The Enactment of the Prevention of Terrorism Act, 2015 in Pursuance of the Constitution of Malaysia: Reincarnation of the Notorious Internal Security Act, 1960?' (2018) 41(1) Suffolk Transnational Law Review

Subramaniam, Yogeswaran and Colin Nicholas, 'The Courts and the Restitution of Indigenous Territories in Malaysia' (2018) 11(1) Erasmus Law Review

Kourabas, Steve and Ian Ramsay, 'Equity Crowdfunding in Malaysia' (2017) 39(6) Company Lawyer 187-196