Skip to main content

Japanese Studies: Books and journals

Locations

Japanese Collection is held on the 2nd level of the ERC.

Books are catalogued using the Library of Congress classification system, and are intershelved with the Chinese materials:

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION

TABLE OF MAIN CLASSES

A --  GENERAL WORKS

B --  PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION

C --  AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

D --  WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE

K -- LAW

L -- EDUCATION

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N -- FINE ARTS

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Q -- SCIENCE

R -- MEDICINE

S -- AGRICULTURE

T -- TECHNOLOGY

U -- MILITARY SCIENCE

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)

 

 

Books in the East Asian Collection acquired prior to June 2012 were catalogued using the Harvard-Yenching classification system. These older books have recently converted into the Library of Congress classification system.  If you can't find a book, please check the sorting shelves or contact the Information desk on the 3rd level of ERC. The main classification areas are:

 

100-999

 

CHINESE CLASSICS

 

1000-1999

 

PHILOSOPHY AND RELIGION

 

2000-3999

 

HISTORICAL SCIENCES
including geography, biographies of people in history

 

4000-4999

 

SOCIAL SCIENCES
women, family, economics, law, education, sociology

 

5000-5999

 

LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
textbooks, kanji, novels, classic literature

 

6000-6999

 

FINE AND RECREATIVE ARTS
music, film, art, sports

 

7000-7999

 

NATURAL SCIENCES
medicine, science, biology

 

8000-8999

 

AGRICULTURE AND TECHNOLOGY
including armed forces

 

9000-9999

 

GENERALIA AND BIBLIOGRAPHY

 

 

Basic searching tips

The library catalogue:

  • search using either Romanised Japanese or in Japanese text. If using Romanisation, don't include long vowels. For example, type in "benkyo" rather than "benkyou" or "benkyoo".
  • use a keyword search for preference.
  • type in Japanese characters.

  Library Catalogue Search

Use the library catalogue to search for relevant books, e-books, journals, newspapers, microfilms and other resources.

Print journals

The journal collection is now open for browsing at the end of the collection nearest the doors. You can read the journals and photocopy parts, but only staff and postgrad students may borrow bound journals, and then only for 2 days.

Western language reference books

The East Asian Collection has a small collection of basic Western language reference works for use with the East Asian language materials.

Trove catalogue