Including Nikkoku Online (ジャパンナレッジ+ 日本国語大辞典).
JapanKnowledge+ is a database containing full text records from Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Newspapers, Journals, and more. The database also features Nikkoku Online, the online version of the Nihon Kokugo Daijiten, a dictionary of Japanese language and terms.
Oxford Reference is the home of Oxford’s quality reference publishing. The collection provides quality, up-to-date reference content at the click of a button. The University of Melbourne subscribes to selected titles from this large collection of materials.
Factiva provides access to the latest business and industry news. It is a valuable research tool for many disciplines, including political science, media studies, business, technology studies, social science, journalism, the arts, and more. The database allows users to browse through a collection of global content sources from 200 countries, in 26 languages – including newspapers, continuously updated newswires from Dow Jones and Reuters, journals and magazines, websites, blogs, and multimedia.
The Japan Times Archive delivers over a century of news and history on world affairs, written in English, from a Japanese perspective. Every issue, published from March 1897 is searchable. The online search tools allow users to enter keywords to find articles or advertisements on specific topics, with the option to limit searches to publication dates, title, specific days of the week, type of publication (Main, Extra or Supplement) or by Imperial Period. The pages are reproduced in full with photos and illustrations.
"Kikuzo II Visual" is one of the largest on-line newspaper database in Japan, containing over 8 million articles. Content is gathered from the Asahi Newspaper, Aera Magazine, Shukan Asahi Magazine and Chiezo, etc. An historical image archive of the Asahi Newspaper is also available from this resource.
Nikkei Telecom is a major Japanese newspaper and source of information for business, economics, trades and international relations with Japan and the world. Archival articles and news including "Nikkei English news" and "Archival search" are available in English.
ProQuest Newsstand provides access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles.
Yomidas Rekishikan is an online database of 11 million articles covering every issue of The Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. The database has four parts: the Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section contains high-quality scans of the articles as they appeared in the original print editions during these periods. The Heisei Era section presents articles in a convenient text view, and for articles since December 2008 there is a clipping view of the original article. The Japan News section catalogues articles which have appeared in our English publication. And finally, the Contemporary Who's Who allows searching by individuals to retrieve biographical information as well as articles which pertain to them. Articles are keyword indexed and can be searched full-text from 1986 to present.
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952. 1) Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; 2) Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 3) Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda.
Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925) was a great polymath – notable for his work in natural history, ethnography and art history – but, perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together. Morse was one of the first Americans to live in Japan. He went there on a scientific expedition in 1877 and his enthusiasm and approach so impressed his hosts that he was made Chair of Zoology at the new Imperial University of Tokyo. But his interests were never limited to evolutionary theory and scientific methodology – in 1882 he turned his attention to ethnology and the documentation of life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization. In addition to preserving the household records of a samurai family and many accounts of the tea ceremony, Morse made notes on subjects as diverse as shop signs, fireworks, hairpins, agricultural tools, artists’ studios, music, games, printing, carpentry, the Ainu, gardens, household construction, art and architecture.