The library subscribes to many databases. These databases index journal articles, book chapters, conferences and theses. In many cases, journal articles are electronically available in full text, while some may be in hard copy format only (check the catalogue under the Journal's title).
Below is a list of databases which will be useful for searching for topics associated with this subject. Access these databases via A-Z eJournals and Databases or by clicking the links below. You will generally need to login with your unimelb login and password as most of the Library subscriptions are only accessible by students and staff members.
This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.
A major reference work for the Islamic world. It includes articles on political and religious institutions, geography, ethnography, history, topography, monuments and more. It covers the Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated as new content is commissioned. Encompassing over 5,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.