Skip to main content

New Zealand Law Guide: Journals & Books

Recent print and eBooks on New Zealand Law

Indexes to articles in NZ Law Journals

When searching for journal articles on a particular topic, it is recommended that you start by searching indexing and abstracting services, followed by searches of full text databases which contain many journals. Using these will locate articles on a particular topic, case or legislative provision, irrespective of in which journals the articles are published.

Indexes/Abstracts (UniMelb staff and student access only) 

  • The New Zealand Legal Writing Index on Westlaw Au indexes all NZ law journals from the first issue. The index began in 1933, so is the best place to find older articles.
  • AGIS Plus Text indexes NZ law journals from 1975 onwards. The list of journals indexed by AGIS is here. Alternatively, search all INFORMIT databases at once - journals on other databases often contain relevant New Zealand content. Go to INFORMIT and select all databases.
  • Legal Source indexes NZ law journals. Coverage begins in the 1980s. The list of journals indexed and their coverage is here.

Full Text Articles

SSRN (open access) covers all jurisdictions, but has many articles and book chapters on New Zealand law. It is the best source of very recent scholarship.

The New Zealand Collection on INFORMIT (UniMelb staff and student access) covers a range of subjects within a multidisciplinary context including business, education, humanities, Indigenous studies, law and social sciences. This full text Collection contains journals of relevance to New Zealand and the Pacific region.

NZLII (open access) contains free full text articles from all New Zealand law journals - these can be searched simultaneously or individually.

Yearbooks

The New Zealand yearbook of international law

Print holdings:

  • Melbourne Law Library, level 4 call number: K1 NEW, 2004 onwards

Online holdings:

Yearbook of New Zealand jurisprudence

NZ Law Journals

The following is a selection of NZ law journals held by the Law Library. [Note: Unless otherwise stated access is available to Melbourne University students only].

Auckland University Law Review 

Australian and New Zealand Maritime Law Journal

  • vol 1, 1983 + on HeinOnline (this database is the most up to date)
  • vol 1, 1983 + AustLII (free online)

Canterbury Law Review 

  • 1980 + NZLII (free online)

Maori Law Review

New Zealand Armed Forces Law Review

  • 2001-2004, Vols. 5-9 (2001-2009) on HeinOnline (ceased publication)

New Zealand business law quarterly

New Zealand Journal of Employment Relations 

New Zealand Journal of Environmental Law 

New Zealand journal of public and international law

New Zealand Journal of Taxation Law and Policy

  • vol 12, 2006 + on Westlaw International (database identifier NZJTLP)
  • in print on level 4 of the Law Library (vol 1, 1994 +) 

New Zealand Law Journal 

  • issue 1, 2002 + on LexisNexisAU
  • vol 4 (1928) - 2010 in print copy on level 4 of the Law Library.

New Zealand Law Review 

New Zealand Universities Law Review 

  • vol 22(2), 2006 + on EBSCOHost
  • in print on level 4 of the Law Library (vol 1 - vol 17; 1963-1997)

Otago Law Review

Te Wharenga: New Zealand Criminal Law Review (open access) 

  • Began in 2016. Published quarterly No volume numbering. All issues available on the journal website.

Victoria University of Wellington Law Review 

Waikato Law Review

  • vol 1 1993 + on HeinOnline (this database is the most up to date)
  • v.2, 1994 + on NZLII (free online)