INSPEC is compiled by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, UK. It is the best available index to literature in physics and it also covers electrical/electronic technology, computing, information technology, control, production and manufacturing engineering. Updated weekly, Inspec® provides data from journals, books, reports, dissertations and conference proceedings
Online, full-text handbooks covering topics such as: applied and industrial physics, applied mechanics and fluid dynamics, astronomy & astrophysics, atomic and molecular physics, biophysics, chemical physics, condensed matter and material science, geophysics, lasers, optics and optoelectronics, mathematical and computational physics, medical physics, mesoscale physics, nonlinear physics, nuclear and high energy physics, plasma physics, quantum physics and statistical physics and thermodynamics.
OPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content. It provides a range of journals, magazines, websites and services that enable researchers and research organisations to reach the widest possible audience for their research. The Library has access to the IOP Journal Archive, with over 206,000 articles published between 1874-2002; and the Turpion Journal Archive, which contains articles published between 1958-2002; and the IOP current journal collection with access to articles published from 2003 to the present day.
This is one of the major databases for chemistry but it can be very useful for certain areas in Physics, especially Materials Science. It is the web version of Chemical Abstracts compiled by the American Chemical Society. Before using Scifinder for the first time users must register while at a University of Melbourne campus to create an individual account. Click the link above and then click the link for the registration instructions.