Skip to main content

Research Support: Essential databases

A guide to library services and resources available to support researchers at the University of Melbourne.

Subject-specific & specialised databases

It is recommended that you identify subject-specific and specialised databases using Subject Research Guides created for different Faculty/discipline areas by our Liaison Librarians.

Citation databases

Why use citation databases?

  • Discover who is citing your research and how your research is influencing newer research
  • Uncover directions in which research is progressing based on an earlier study
  • Track the work of a noted authority
  • Verify the accuracy of a cited reference that has been listed in a bibliography
  • Analyze the impact of published research Keep up to date with what has been published in your field.

Refer to the Tracking Citations guide for tutorials and more information

Web of Science

Multi-disciplinary database which covers agriculture, art, biology, computer science, earth sciences, engineering, environmental studies, humanities, life sciences, medicine, science, social sciences and technology. Includes   Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED); Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH); Book Citation Index– Science (BKCI-S); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)

Scopus

Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database. It covers 18,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers. International coverage with references going back to 1996 & abstracts going back further. 100% coverage of Medline.

Google Scholar

Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. University of Melbourne researchers can set their Google Scholar preferences so that links to full texts are available through SourceIt@Melbourne

Publish or Perish

Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyses academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyses these and presents a wide range of citation metrics.

Library Catalogues

Discovery

Discovery is the Library’s Google-like search engine that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library resources such as print and electronic books, articles, theses and other resources located both in the Library and beyond.

  • Researchers may find Advanced Search a good starting point to get an overview (and additional search terms) on their research topic.
  • One search covers the majority of the library’s resources including full-text online. However it does not include all library subscriptions (not all specialised databases can be included in Discovery)
  • Discovery does not replace the need to systematically search specialist databases for researchers.
  • Specific databases can be accessed via the A-Z databases listing
  • Specific e-journals can be accessed via A-Z Journals or the Library Catalogue

Discovery Guide - see the Discovery for Researchers tutorial on the Tutorials tab.

Multi-disciplinary databases

In addition to subject-specific and specialised databases for your dicipline area, the following multidisciplinary databases are recommended. 

JSTOR 

Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.

Academic Search Complete

A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Proquest

Multidisciplinary collection of databases including important business databases such as ABI/INFORM. Bibliographic and full text content including peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, industry reports and company profiles.

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

IBSS contains bibliographic records, many with full-text, for journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander combined Informit Databases

A collection of databases that covers issues relating to Indigenous Australian & Torres Strait Islander communities. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses - Full Text

Over two million entries for doctoral and master's theses from around the world. Strong full-text content; multidisciplinary coverage.

Specialised collections

Company and Industry Information

Statistics

Theses

Newspapers- contemporary and historical 

Archives

Minerva Access - the University of Melbourne Institutional Repository - digital collection

Cultural and Special Collections - digital collections

SSRN - Social Science Research Network  - Abstracts for over 359,800 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, and over 293,500 downloadable full text papers.