Skip to main content

Learning Chinese: Finding Chinese books

This guide has been created to support students for learning Chinese

Quick catalogue search

Tips for searching Chinese books:

  • Adopts Library of Congress “ Chinese romanization guidelines “ http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/romanization/chinese.pdf
  • Adopts single syllable Pinyin, eg. Wen xue shi liao cong bian.
  • Personal name: joins together, eg. Deng Xiaoping, Shen Congwen.
  • Established name: follows Library of Congress practice, eg. Confucius.
  • Geographical name: follows US Board of Geographical Names. For details, see “Romanization of Chinese geographic names in descriptive and subject headings’ ( http://www.loc.gov/catdir/pinyin/romx33.pdf ).

Browsing Books

Business Chinese 5162.3

Chinese character writing 5167

Chinese-English dictionary 5196 (REF)

Chinese language textbooks 5162

Chinese readers 5162

Children literature 5796

Composition 5796

Conversation 5162.6

English-Chinese dictionary 5196.9 (REF)

Grammar 5162.3; 5140

HSK 5162

Pronounciation  5137

Note: The Library has ordered many Chinese language learning ebooks. They are not available for browsing.

Useful subject headings

Copy the following subject headings onto the above Quick Catalog Search box to view library collection:

 Chinese language -- Ability testing.

Chinese Language -- Ability testing -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.  

Chinese language -- Ancient Chinese, 600-1200.

 Chinese language -- Business Chinese -- Study and teaching (Higher)  

Chinese language -- Composition and exercises

Chinese language -- Conversation and phrase books

Chinese language -- Consonants.

Chinese language -- Conversation.  

Chinese language -- Conversation and phrase books -- English.

Chinese language -- Dictionaries -- English.

Chinese language -- Grammar.

Chinese language -- Examinations, questions, etc.

Chinese language -- Phonetics.

Chinese language -- Pronunciation.

Chinese language -- Readers.

Chinese language -- Self-instruction.

Chinese language -- Spoken Chinese.

Chinese language -- Study and teaching (Primary)

Chinese language -- Study and teaching -- Foreign speakers.

Chinese language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers.

Chinese language -- Video recordings for English speakers.

Chinese language -- Writing.

English language -- Dictionaries -- Chinese.

Letter writing, Chinese

Location codes

Books are shelved by language. Japanese materials are highlighted with orange colour label on the spine.

The East Asian Collection is classified according to the Harvard-Yenching classification scheme for Chinese and Japanese and the Library of Congress Classifications. The Collection Codes for East Asian language materials adopted by the INNOPAC system are as follows:

UniM ERC EA ...... items in the general collection

UniM ERC EA f .... folio items

UniM ERC EA REF .. reference [not for loan]

UniM Baill Spc/EA ...... closed stack [not for loan, use in Special Collections Reading Room only. Click here to request an item]

UniM ERC P ....... Periodicals UniM Bail MIC ..... Microform items [Basement, Baillieu Library]

UniM STO ........... Store

 

Classification

Harvard Yenching Classification

分类总目 TABLE OF MAIN CLASSES

100-999 中国 经学类 CHINESE CLASSICS
1000-1999 哲学宗教类 PHILOSOPHY AND RELIGION
2000-3999 历史科学类 HISTORICAL SCIENCES
4000-4999 社会科学类 SOCIAL SCIENCES
5000-5999 语言文学类 LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
6000-6999 美术游艺类 FINE AND RECREATIVE ARTS
7000-7999 自然科学类 NATURAL SCIENCES
8000-8999 农业工艺类 AGRICULTURE AND TECHNOLOGY
9000-9999 总录书志类 GENERALIA AND BIBLIOGRAPHY

The main classes and sub-classes of the HY classification can be viewed from the following URL: http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/collections/asian/Harvard-Yenching.html

The main classes and sub-classes of the HY classification can be viewed from the following URL: http://www.lib.unimelb.edu.au/collections/asian/Harvard-Yenching.html

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION

TABLE OF MAIN CLASSES

A --  GENERAL WORKS

B --  PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION

C --  AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

D --  WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE

K -- LAW

L -- EDUCATION

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

N -- FINE ARTS

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

Q -- SCIENCE

R -- MEDICINE

S -- AGRICULTURE

T -- TECHNOLOGY

U -- MILITARY SCIENCE

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES (GENERAL)