Skip to main content

Ancient World Studies, Archaeology and Classics

A guide to resources relevant to Ancient World Studies, Archaeology and Classics at the University of Melbourne Library

Finding journal articles

About databases

The library subscribes to many databases. These databases index journal articles, book chapters, conferences and theses. In many cases, journal articles are electronically available in full text, while some may be in hard copy format only (check the catalogue under the Journal's title).

Below is a list of databases which will be useful for searching for topics associated with this subject. Access these databases via A-Z eJournals and Databases or by clicking the links below. You will generally need to login with your unimelb login and password as most of the Library subscriptions are only accessible by students and staff members.

Key databases

Année philologique can be tricky to use. Here are some quick tips, but see the User guide for more details.

There is NO FULL TEXT available on L'Année philologique. To find the full text of an article, you will need to note the title of the journal (in italics) and then check the library catalogue.

Full Text search on L'Année philologique is a keyword search. It does not search the full text of articles.

Use Advanced Search to limit to English-language material.

After you have done a search, you can limit the results by Document Type. L'Année philologique refers to journal articles as 'review articles'.

Example image of how to restrict by document type in Annee Philologique

Loading

General databases

Selected journals