The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society strives to provide its members and the worldwide scientific community a comprehensive collection, in any medium, of high quality information products and services that advance the practice of the chemical and related sciences.
CHEMnetBASE : Chemical Databases Online is a collection of chemistry databases, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, the Combined Chemical Dictionary, and other major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC Press.
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions, with chemical data, citations and abstracts as far back as 1823. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focussed and relevant information in chemistry. Reaxys incorporates three databses, Crossfire Beilstein (organic chemistry), Crossfire Gmelin (inorganic chemistry) and Patent Chemistry, to form a single, fully integrated chemical workflow solution.
This is one of the major databases for chemistry but it can be very useful for certain areas in Physics, especially Materials Science. It is the web version of Chemical Abstracts compiled by the American Chemical Society. Before using Scifinder for the first time users must register while at a University of Melbourne campus to create an individual account. Click the link above and then click the link for the registration instructions.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Contains both current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available from 1900.