Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Exporting from Databases to EndNote using Firefox

There are a couple of ways of getting records from databases into EndNote when you are working with a Mac.

The best and most seamless way is to use Firefox as your browser, then you will usually just have to do the following:

1. Click on the Export option (or similar) in the database (once you have selected your records). 

2. A pop-up window will then open:

3. Click on Choose... and select EndNote from the Applications:

4. Then click OK in the pop-up window.

The records should now appear in your EndNote Library.

Direct Export with Safari and/or Google Chrome

The Safari Browser comes with all Apple products, but it does not work seamlessly with EndNote.  Chrome also require some adaptations to work in the same way as Firefox..  If you don't do this set up, the exported files go directly into your download folder instead of into EndNote and all you will see is a text file, and you will need to take  extra steps to get the records into your EndNote Library.

If you use Firefox instead of Safari, it is much simplier to export your database citations into EndNote.  EndNote recommends Firefox for Mac users because it provides a dialog box that lets you tell the databases the path to EndNote.

When the dialog box opens and asks you to choose a program to open the item you've exported, go to your Applications folder, then your EndNote folder, then click on the black and red EndNote icon.  Be sure to check the box to that says to use that application for the same RIS (citation) file type.

More detailed instructions can be found on the EndNote Support & Services pages by searching for the phrase:  "EndNote Mac: Configuring Firefox Direct Export."

It  is possible to export records from databases, to EndNote using Google Chrome or Safari, but the process is not consistent, and may vary depending on whch database you are searching.

Search the database

  • Select records for export
  • Click on the Export option
  • Choose the export option that will send records to EndNote (it will be RIS, or just include EndNote in the list of reference managers)
  • When you see the box that asks you to choose an application - click Choose Application

Safari Import screen

  • Go to Finder - Applications - EndNote - Endnote App
  • OK

The records should appear in your EndNote Library.

OR

For Safari

  • Go to EndNote
  • File - Import
  • Seelct the file from your downloads folder - it will often have the extension .ris,  .ciw, or .enw, or have a name, such as "delivery"
  • Select your Import Option - use Reference Manager (RIS)
  • Click Import

Import records

For Chrome:

The downloaded file will appear in the bottom left of your browser window:

Google Chrome direct export

With some databases, all you need to do is click on the "Session Marked List" box, and the records will appear in your EndNote Library.

With others, follow the steps above using the File - Import procedure.

Zotero stealing your references?

If you are using Firefox, and the Zotero plugin has been installed, you may find that references you download are added to your Zotero Library instead of EndNote.

To prevent this:

  1. Open Zotero in FireFox, by clicking the ‘Z’ icon at the top right of the Firefox window.
  2. Click the cog icon and select: 'Preferences…'
  3. Un-tick the checkbox: ‘Use Zotero for downloaded BibTeX/RIS/Refer files’.
  4. Click the ‘OK’ button.

Download references into EndNote using an Import Filter

In some cases, you will need to use Import Filters to export / import citations (two-step process)

Step One: Export citations from a database into a text file
 

Step Two: Import text file into EndNote library
1. In EndNote, check you are in the right library and select menu File > Import
2. Click <Choose File>. In the Desktop folder, locate the .txt file
3. Set Import option to <name of database>
- If this Import filter option is not listed, select Other Filters under Import Option and find it in the list

Select <Import>
Note: Check the results for errors! some records may not display correctly  and will need editing. Using EndNote’s File>Import is the only successful method to transfer selected records when searching most databases.

NOTE: EndNote does not come with filters for every database. You can download more from the EndNote website: