Skip to main content

EndNote

An introduction to EndNote for Mac and Windows and EndNote Online.

Compatibility of EndNote with Word Processors

EndNote X8 for Mac is fully compatible with Microsoft Word [Cite While You Write] for Macintosh: 2011 and 2016 (version 15.21.1 or later).

The instructions below are for using EndNote with Microsoft Word, but the EndNote X8 cite while you write feature also works with:

  • Apple Pages and
  • Wolfram Mathematica 8.

Additionally you can use EndNote's Format Paper feature to format EndNote citations in any word processor that allows you to save documents in .rtf or .odt format, such as Apache OpenOffice.

​See the links below for more information:

Working with References in Word

There are various methods to insert citations into documents.

The EndNote X8 toolbar can be used in Word to find a citation or insert a selected citation:

You can also directly insert a citation from EndNote or copy and paste citations from EndNote to Word. 

Using APA 6th as an example:

Formatted citations appear as (Wu, Chan, & Ma, 2005).

Unformatted citations have curly brackets and exposed record numbers {Wu, 2005 #34}. 

To format these citations, select: BibliographyUpdate Citations and Bibliography. 

Also do this if you edit the reference in EndNote after entering it in Word to make your edits appear.

To unformat citations, select: ToolsConvert to Unformatted Citations.  This might be done to check that you selected the appropriate references from your EndNote library.

EndNote will also automatically generate a reference list/bibliography in the chosen style at the end of the document.

 

Editing Citations and Bibliographies

Editing Citations in Your Document

It is not possible to edit citations by typing over the citation as the edits are lost each time EndNote reformats the reference list.

Citations can be edited by clicking on a citation and selecting Edit & Manange Citations from the EndNote toolbar.                                    

The citations will be selected in the Citations in document window.  Make any of the following changes to the highlighted citation.

  • Use the Prefix field to enter text to be displayed immediately before the citation text. Spaces are significant. e.g. Johnston (cited in Coles, 2005)
  • Use the Suffix field for text after the citation text and for page numbers, e.g.(Coles, 2005, p.45)
  • Use the Pages field to add page references to your citations. If pages don not display (some styles do not recognise this field), use Suffix to add page numbers, as above)
  • Format > Exclude Author: select this menu option to omit the author name from the formatted citation.  e.g. Coles (2005).
  • Format > Exclude Year: select this menu option to omit the date from the formatted citation.

Editing Bibliography Layout in Your Document

Bibliography layout changes made using Word are replaced each time EndNote reformats the bibliography.

To edit the bibliography layout, select Bibliography > Configure Bibliography. This provides options for changing the font, font size, indents, line spacing, and spacing between bibliography entries.

Add a Separate Bibliography

A formatted reference list can be added to your document without using EndNote to insert citations.

  1. Open a Word Document.
  2. Open your EndNote Library.
  3. Select references for your list using the mouse and holding down the Command key while multiple references are selected.
  4. Select on Edit > Copy Formatted.
  5. Go back to Word and select the place in the document where the references should be inserted.
  6. Click on the Paste icon.

Instant Formatting

Instant formatting enables you to watch the reference list (bibliography) appear as you insert citations. If you are writing a long or complex document such as a thesis, it is recommended that instant formatting is turned off as it can be time-consuming to reformat each time a new citation is inserted.

When you have finished writing the document or if you want to see a draft, click on Update Citations and Bibliography to format the citations and reference list.

To continue work on the document, unformat the citations using the Tools menu, and selecting Convert to Unformatted Citations.

It is essential to have unformatted citations when compiling a master document from separate documents, in order to create a single reference list at the end of the document.

To disable or enable Instant Formatting in the current document, select the Instant Formatting is On/Off button:

To disable or enable Instant Formatting for all documents: In the EndNote X8 toolbar in Word select: Preferences, and untick/tick the checkbox: Enable Instant Formatting on New Word Documents.